The most frequently-used databases
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Includes transcripts of global radio and television broadcasts, telegraph, and news sources translated into English and summarized by the BBC Monitoring Service. The collection is divided into several components covering periods in which the content remained largely static. Series 1 includes Daily Digest of Foreign Broadcasts, August 28, 1939-1958; Daily Digest of World Broadcasts, May 24, 1945-May 6, 1947; Digest of World Broadcasting, May 7, 1947-May 27, 1947; Summary of World Broadcasts, May 28, 1947-May 24, 1949, and Summary of World Broadcasts, May 25, 1949-April 15, 1959.
College of Charleston has trial access to Bloomsbury Fashion Central, a peer-reviewed digital hub with scholarly articles, books, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, textbooks, and more. The trial provides access to all collections available on the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform. However, when completing the Electronic Resource Trial Evaluation Form, be as specific as possible about which collections are most valuable to you by providing additional comments or feedback in the section at the end of the form. This will help the Collection Development Committee narrow down the most popular collections. Trial access only. The trial ends on November 8, 2024.
Provides up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Access to Chilton Library is provided by Discus, South Carolina's virtual library.
First-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
Provides access to hundreds of award-winning stage productions from Broadway HD, the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Stratford Festival and more, with coverage as far back as the 1970s. Also includes access to quality written and teaching resources.
An award award-winning digital library from Bloomsbury, the world's leading drama publisher. College of Charleston Libraries provides access to selected collections from Drama Online which currently include the Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen; the National Theatre Collections 1, 2, & 3; the Oberon Books 1 &2; RSC Live; and the TCG Books: American Drama.
Provides context for the world's major political and economic developments, including recent election results for every country world, the ability to compare national statistics in graph and tabular form, and more.
Sheds light on the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent radical groups in the United States in the 1960s.
From the publisher: “This collection of FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department, shed new light on the motivations of the Communist organizers, the shootings, subsequent investigations, and efforts to heal the Greensboro community” after the November 3, 1979 rally and march of black industrial workers and Communists in Greensboro, North Carolina.
Combines experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as told by the news media, 2010 to today. Updated daily. Articles in English and Spanish.
A database for musical theater repertoire. Find the right song for your next audition, performance, or for study. Search 11,000 (and counting) titles spanning 150 years of shows, custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags. Plus, access to direct links to find sheet music and recordings (when available).
Provides data, content, and resources, including award-winning journalism, presentations, infographics and analysis to stay on top of key moments in politics and policy. Access includes the Research, RaceTracker, Almanac, Daybook, and Events modules. Access to these modules is available through the buttons at the top of page.
For off-campus access, sign in using your MyPortal username and password.
Curated by the National Archives and Records Administration largely from the official Bureau of Indian Affairs which provides detailed records of tribal relations with settlers, the Territorial and Federal governments, and other tribes. Series 1 includes the Michigan Superintendency, Northern Superintendency, Southern Superintendency, Arkansas Superintendency, Central Superintendency, Florida Superintendency, Iowa Superintendency, and St. Louis Superintendency.
Developed with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together award-winning content into one destination that can be used for research, teaching, and learning. Combining primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies, this easy-to-use interface will enable students to find the resources they need by topic pages, timelines, source types and more.
From the publisher: “James E. Jackson and Esther Cooper Jackson, African American communists and civil rights activists, are best known for their role in founding and leading the Southern Negro Youth Congress (1937-48). This collection contains the correspondence of both Esther Cooper and James E. Jackson, James Jackson's lectures, research notebooks, speeches, and writings (published and unpublished), subject files, correspondence, internal documents and printed ephemera pertaining to the Southern Negro Youth Congress and the periodical Freedomways, legal and other materials pertaining to the Smith Act indictments of James Jackson and other communists, Communist Party internal documents, many of a programmatic nature, and clippings (articles by and about the Jacksons).”
From the publisher: “Provides an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an extensive inventory of historical data at a local level. Each profile, composed as a narrative with statistical indices, contains information showing general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources.”
