LibGuides: Business Research: Consumer Marketing &amp; Advertising Research

Consumer Marketing & Advertising Research

Ad Age
Publishes the latest news, analysis, and data on marketing and media.
New User Registration: From the AdAge.com site, click on the “Register For Free” button. Create an account using your College of Charleston email address. Once complete, you should see your name in the upper right corner, and you can go into your account profile to set up the different newsletter and email preferences. The next time you visit AdAge.com, click the Login button and enter your username (email address) and the password you chose when you created your account.
APA PsycINFO
Expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than three million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Business Source Complete
Includes access to over 1,500 full-text journals and magazines, more than 900 full-text peer-reviewed journals, nearly 500 journals without embargo, over 700 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Combines the CommSearch database and the Mass Media Article Index. Contains full text to over 60 journals in addition to journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.

DemographicsNow
Available via the Charleston County Public Library (CCPL). CCPL card required for off-site access. Profile current and potential customers, support business and marketing plan preparation, and evaluate sites and analyze markets of any area in the United States. Understand your customers better, create detailed maps with data, and analyze the shifts and needs of a population area.

PolicyMap
Leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block up to the national level. Users can also upload data and customize searches.
While setting up an account is not necessary, College of Charleston faculty, students, and staff may want to create individual accounts in order to save their work.

Reference Solutions
Available via the Charleston County Public Library (CCPL). CCPL card required for off-site access. Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) provides business, government, and residential directories for the U.S. and Canada. Able to compile marketing lists for calls or mailing for both business-to-business and business-to-consumer sales. Search for potential customers by area, time in area, purchasing patterns, interests, income, and much more. Perfect for competitor analysis and looking for industry saturation in an area.

Roper iPoll
Includes survey results from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as ABC News, Gallup, Pew Research Center, Kaiser Family Foundation, and many more. The data come from all the surveys in the Roper Center archive that have U.S. national adult samples or samples of registered voters, women, African Americans, or any subpopulation that constitutes a large segment of the national adult population.
Statista
Includes 2.5 million multi-disciplinary statistics, facts, and market data; 4,000 dossiers; more than 80,000 topics covering various markets and industries; 22,500 original sources of data; and more. All exportable for republication.

DemographicsNow
Available via the Charleston County Public Library (CCPL). CCPL card required for off-site access. Profile current and potential customers, support business and marketing plan preparation, and evaluate sites and analyze markets of any area in the United States. Understand your customers better, create detailed maps with data, and analyze the shifts and needs of a population area.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE)
Although CE tables are available from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), users may find that DemographicsNow has a more intuitive interface and better built-in report options than the BLS site. Use DemographicsNow to get current year CE estimates and 5-year projections for any U.S. geographic area.
Mosaic® USA Product Guide
Mosaic® USA is a segmentation system developed by Experian that classifies U.S. households into 71 unique types and 19 overarching groups that share similar demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.
Mosaic® USA Handbook
Mosaic® USA profiles provide information about the sociodemographics, lifestyles, behaviors, and culture of consumers. Affluence and life stage, combined with property characteristics, socio-economics, ethnicity, additional financial measures, and the type of geographic location (e.g. urban or rural) are key components of the Mosaic classifications.