Digital Primary and Secondary Sources: Jewish History

a landmark exhibition that presents a remarkable group of objects and a provocative investigation of the people and circumstances that produced them. See our Publications page for the book.

this tumblr shows images from the William A. Rosenthall collection. Click on “Archive” to see the whole run of images posted to date.

Primary documents and photographs that covers Jewish life in the Western Hemisphere, beginning in the era of European colonization. Many of the collection items pertain to South Carolina Jews. The site offers high resolution images that are easy to access and download.

A research guide compiled by Addlestone reference librarian Alana Lewis and Professor Theodore Rosengarten.

Historic Columbia, in partnership with the College of Charleston’s Jewish Heritage Collection, the Jewish Community Center and Jewish Federation of Columbia, the Jewish Historical Society of South Carolina, and Richland Library, has developed a multi-discipline project to document as well as provide access to and awareness of local Jewish history. Take an interactive neighborhood tour to learn about the capital city’s early Jewish residents or contact Historic Columbia if you have stories or photos to share.

List of resources available in Special Collections, Addlestone Library, College of Charleston.

South Carolina is among the states featured in the institute’s encyclopedia of southern Jewish communities.

Housed at the Charleston County Public Library. To view materials from the College of Charleston’s Holocaust Archives, coupled with narratives of Charleston-area survivors, please check out this interactive site that displays the quilt online.

JHSSC meets twice a year in different cities and towns across South Carolina, and publishes a biannual magazine. Its statewide survey of Jewish burial grounds, accessible on this site, continues to expand, as additional tombstones are photographed and genealogical information discovered. Consult its Resources page for useful links to genealogical sites and other points of interest.

Online exhibit featuring images related to synagogues and other aspects of Jewish life and culture from around the world, selected from the William A. Rosenthall Judaica Collection, housed in Special Collections, Addlestone Library, College of Charleston.

Browse this site for a sampling of Jewish Heritage Collection materials. Enter the search terms of your choice, for example: Jewish Heritage Collection Oral Histories; Zionism; Holocaust; William A. Rosenthall.

Online exhibit that invites you to explore the Jewish presence in Charleston over the centuries through images and texts from our archives, plotted on historical maps that document the shifting geographical distribution of Jews and Jewish institutions across the urban landscape. This online exhibit was made possible by funding from the Cahnman Foundation, the Charleston Jewish Federation, and the Pearlstine/Lipov Center for Southern Jewish Culture.

Yizkor (memorial) books document the history of Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust. Written in Yiddish, Hebrew, or both, they are a crucial resource for research in East European Jewish history, Holocaust studies, and Jewish genealogy; often, they include necrologies (lists of those who died), making them especially valuable for genealogical research. Visually, many of these books are extremely rich, featuring detailed maps, photographs, and illustrations.

Jewish Life in America will enable you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This rich collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.