Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
Due to excessively high inflation, as of January 2025, the College of Charleston's subscription to AM Explorer will be canceled. We may still retain access to a very limited number of collections. For more information, please contact Allison Jones, Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian (jonesak@cofc.edu). Provides millions of pages of primary sources, spanning the 15th to 21st centuries, with various themes including Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History and more.
Developed in conjunction with ATLA, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials to African American religious life and culture.
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
Comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress.
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment.
A collection of generals' reports of service which represents an attempt by the Adjutant General's Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War.
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
Provides an in-depth look at day-to-day actions of the troops, primarily in the form of regimental histories. These books were published after the war to document what actually happened.
Allows a look into the way the battles within the war were fought. Here the emphasis is on strategies and tactics as planned and executed by the commanding officers, with a longer-term view as opposed to daily concerns.
This collection consists of memoirs, pamphlets, and regimental histories from the Civil War holdings at the University of Iowa.
Contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
A collection of FBI reports which includes the investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Consists of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed materials, including several hundred case files and publications produced and received by the Civil Rights Congress, which was established in 1946.
Includes essential materials for the study of early development of the Civil Rights Movement and provides insight into FDR's political style and presents an instructive example of how he balanced moral preferences with political realities.
From the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822-1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Archival collections documenting the most important and widely studied topics in eighteenth through twentieth century American history.
Details Operation Oak Tree, the code name for the Army's plans to intervene in Alabama in the event of civil disturbances related to school integration in May 1963.
Contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith's battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Includes the most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, with more than 1,500 publications of unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native American and European settlers.
Consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S.) from 1965-1979.
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
The South Carolina State Documents Depository provides access to publications produced by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions.
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Details the Freedom Rides, which began the May 5, 1961, to challenge the status quo by riding various forms of public transportation in the South to challenge local laws or customs that enforced segregation.
