Southern Studies Research: Find Background Info

The Encyclopedia of Alabama's mission is to present trustworthy and authoritative information on a wide range of topics. EOA is a collaborative effort involving many individuals and organizations and offers articles written or adapted specifically for it, and new content is added to the site regularly.

The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas strives to offer a definitive, comprehensive, and accurate record of America’s twenty-fifth state. As of 2017, the site offers more than 5,000 entries and more than 6,700 pieces of media.

Floripedia is a collection of articles about Florida and Florida history. Most of the articles were written a long time ago. The original source is given at the end of each article. Be sure to notice the date when the article was written.

The New Georgia Encyclopedia (NGE) contains authoritative resources and original content to help users understand the rich history and diverse culture of Georgia's still-unfolding story. The 2,300-plus articles and 6,600-plus images remain available and accessible.

The Kentucky Encyclopedia subjects reflect all areas of the commonwealth and span the time from prehistoric settlement to today’s headlines, recording Kentuckians’ achievements in art, architecture, business, education, politics, religion, science, and sports. The web edition of The Kentucky Encyclopedia contains all of the entries in the print and CD-ROM editions.

64 Parishes is a project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LEH). In 2008, LEH launched KnowLA, the online encyclopedia of Louisiana. 64 Parishes represents the evolution of this tradition, creating content that reflects the partnerships, programs, and mission of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities.

The Mississippi Encyclopedia attempts above all to be a scholarly work about life in the state, past and present. Through its choices of subjects, we hope to present not just problems but also the stories of people who addressed the problems. Instead of celebrating, The Mississippi Encyclopedia presents a wide variety of experiences and perspectives.

NCpedia now contains more than 7,000 articles and more than 7,400 images and NCpedia highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people, and culture to enrich, educate and inform.

Consisting of almost 2000 entries with more than 1100 digital assets, the Digital South Carolina Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference source of the people, places, events, things, achievements, and ideals that have contributed to the evolution of the Palmetto State.

The on-line edition of the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture is a fully searchable version of the print version and contains over 1,500 entries. The online version has updates to existing entries, new entries, more than five hundred additional images, plus audio and video files.

The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) and currently includes nearly 27,000 entries that focus on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age. These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history.

Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites.

e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia, a full-featured electronic reference resource with more than 2,300 articles, thousands of multimedia assets, and a 12,000-item timeline.