Find Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Peer Review is part of the process an article must pass to be published in a quality scholarly journal. After an editor has pre-screened a submitted paper, it is provided to two or three experts in the field(s) pertinent to the article. Double Blind Peer Review is where the identities and affiliations of the authors are withheld from the reviewers and the identities of the reviewers are withheld from the authors. Another name for "peer reviewed" is "refereed."
Peer reviewers are tasked with critically evaluating the paper, from its research question, design, and method to its interpretation and synthesis of results and information. The writing style and quality may also be addressed. As a result of peer review, an article may be accepted, rejected, or returned to the authors with suggestions and guidance on how it, or the underlying research, can be improved to make it suitable for publication.
Peer review is designed to ensure that only quality research is published by a journal and that the journal's reputation is maintained.
All journals covered in Web of Science database are peer-reviewed. Web of Science has strict quality criteria for inclusion in the database.
Nearly all other databases include content from sources that may or may not include a peer review process. Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed material with a check box on either the search interface or the results list.
If in doubt about the peer review status of a particular journal, visit the journal website and look for information about peer review. This may be found within the description of submission/acceptance criteria for authors (e.g. Guidelines for authors, Publish in this journal, Submit an article) or the general information about the journal (e.g. About, Journal overview, General information).
You can also browse or search for microplastics related articles within individual journals:
Older editions of some of these titles, and others, may be found in print in the Marine Resources Library or Addlestone Library. Search the catalog by Journal Title to see holdings and locations.
This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles in the areas of marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology. Also includes environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Worlds most comprehensive international collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Simultaneously searches ProQuest's Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection and ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, two databases that are a part of ProQuest's Science & Technology collection.
Full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, dating from 1980. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
