Marine Microplastic Pollution: Microplastics - Chemistry

Characterization and Analysis of Microplastics, Volume 75 presents the latest information on new and published analytical methodologies for the identification and quantification of microplastics. This series focuses on a variety of interesting topics surrounding the field of microplastics, with this new release in the series covering sampling and sample handing, the characterization of microplastics by raman spectroscopy, and techniques for assessing the chemical compounds related to microplastics. Users will find a variety of useful information that includes morphological, physical and chemical characterizations, along with analytical techniques and future perspectives of analytical methodologies in this rapidly advancing field. Concise, comprehensive coverage of analytical techniques and applications Clear diagrams adequately support important topics Includes real examples that illustrate applications of the analytical techniques on the sampling, characterization, and analysis of microplastics

The focus of this book is the chemistry of environmental engineering and its applications, with a special emphasis on the use of polymers in this field. It explores the creation and use of polymers with special properties such as viscoelasticity and interpenetrating networks; examples of which include the creation of polymer-modified asphalt as well as polymers with bacterial adhesion properties.  The text contains the issues of polymerization methods, recycling methods, wastewater treatment, types of contaminants, such as microplastics, organic dyes, and pharmaceutical residues. After a detailed overview of polymers in Chapter 1, their special properties are discussed in the following chapter. Among the topics is the importance of polymers to water purification procedures, since their use in the formation of reverse osmosis membranes do not show biofouling. Chapter 3 details special processing methods, such as atom transfer radical polymerization, enzymatic polymerization, plasma treatment, and several other methods, can be used to meet the urgent demands of industrial applications.  Chapter 4 addresses the important environmental issue of recycling methods as they relate to several types of materials such as PET bottles, tire rubbers, asphalt compositions, and other engineering resins. And wastewater treatment is detailed in Chapter 5, in which the types of contaminants, such as microplastics, organic dyes and pharmaceutical residues, are described and special methods for their proper removal are detailed along with types of adsorbents, including biosorbents. Still another important issue for environmental engineering chemistry is pesticides. Chapter 6 is a thorough description of the development and fabrication of special sensors for the detection of certain pesticides. A detailed presentation of the electrical uses of polymer-based composites is given in Chapter 7, which include photovoltaic materials, solar cells, energy storage and dielectric applications, light-emitting polymers, and fast-charging batteries. And recent issues relating to food engineering, such as food ingredient tracing, protein engineering, biosensors and electronic tongues, are presented in Chapter 8. Finally, polymers used for medical applications are described in Chapter 9. These applications include drug delivery, tissue engineering, porous coatings and also the special methods used to fabricate such materials.

Emerging contaminants are chemical and biological agents for which there is growing concern about their potential health and environmental effects. The threat lies in the fact that the sources, fate and toxicology of most of these compounds have not yet been studied. Emerging contaminants, therefore, include a large number of both recently discovered and well-known compounds such as rare earth elements, viruses, bacteria, nanomaterials, microplastics, pharmaceuticals, endocrine disruptors, hormones, personal care products, cosmetics, pesticides, surfactants and industrial chemicals. Emerging contaminants have been found in many daily products, and some of them accumulate in the food chain. Correlations have been observed between aquatic pollution by emerging contaminants and discharges from wastewater treatment plants. Most actual remediation methods are not effective at removing emerging contaminants. This first volume presents comprehensive knowledge on emerging contaminants with a focus on analysis, toxicity, antibiotic resistance and human health.

Emerging contaminants are chemical and biological agents for which there is growing concern about their potential health and environmental effects. The threat lies in the fact that the sources, fate and toxicology of most of these compounds have not yet been studied. Emerging contaminants, therefore, include a large number of both recently discovered and well-known compounds such as rare earth elements, viruses, bacteria, nanomaterials, microplastics, pharmaceuticals, endocrine disruptors, hormones, personal care products, cosmetics, pesticides, surfactants and industrial chemicals. Emerging contaminants have been found in many daily products, and some of them accumulate in the food chain. Correlations have been observed between aquatic pollution by emerging contaminants and discharges from wastewater treatment plants. Most actual remediation methods are not effective at removing emerging contaminants. This second volume presents comprehensive knowledge on emerging contaminants with a focus on remediation.

This reference work presents an authoritative review of microplastics as vectors of environmental contaminants and provides a comprehensive coverage of their ecotoxicological and toxicological effects. Divided into four sections, this book outlines the current analytical techniques and applications for sampling, processing analysis, and data reporting of microplastics pollution in the environment, explores microplastics degradation and interaction with chemical pollutants, discusses the fate and behaviour of microplastics in the environment, and provides valuable insights about prevention, regulation and remediation of microplastics pollution. Written by interdisciplinary expert academics and practitioners, this reference work will appeal to a wide readership of students, researchers and professionals interested in this field, including marine scientists, environmental scientists, analytical chemists, organic chemists, biochemists, biologists, polymer scientists, and toxicologists.

This volume consists of 15 chapters and focuses on hazardous chemicals, how they are associated with plastics, and their environmental risks. It includes background information on plastics and additives chemistry, and their observed or potential effects on living organisms as well as the oceanographic aspects of marine debris dispersion. The respective chapters provide insights into the sorption/desorption of chemicals in and out of plastics, the mechanisms and kinetics, but also the scale of the concentrations of chemicals found in marine debris, particularly in microplastics. The occurrence of the various chemicals is analyzed, as well as the distribution profiles of the chemicals in microplastics throughout the world's oceans. The implications of the fact that plastics carry within them several chemicals are discussed in detail. In closing, new research topics that warrant further attention are identified. The book will appeal to all scientists who are already working or interested in starting to work on the topic of marine debris, as well as policymakers, NGOs and the broader informed public.

Microplastic Pollutants introduces the reader to the growing problem of microplastic pollution in the aquatic environment and is the first ever book dedicated exclusively to the subject of microplastics. Importantly, this timely full-colour illustrated multidisciplinary book highlights the very recent realization that microplastics may transport toxic chemicals into food chains around the world. Microplastic pollutants is currently an important topic in both industry and academia, as well as among legislative bodies, and research in this area is gaining considerable attention from both the worldwide media and scientific community on a rapidly increasing scale. Ultimately, this book provides an excellent source of reference and information on microplastics for scientists, engineers, students, industry, policy makers and citizens alike. A detailed chronological history of plastic materials from their creation until the present day Extensive review and discussion of the existing literature on the interactions of microplastics with chemical pollutants and their effects on aquatic life Explanation and provision of the techniques used for the detection, separation and identification of microplastics Detailed multidisciplinary information on the way in which plastic materials and microplastics behave in the aquatic environment The provision of extensive multidisciplinary reference data relating to plastic materials and microplastics

This book addresses the emergent need to act on reducing or getting rid of micro plastic pollution, to achieve a sustainable environment. Microplastics are small plastic pieces, which are less than five millimeters long which can be harmful to our oceans and aquatic life. These predominantly include microfibers from clothing, microbeads, and plastic pellets. Microplastics impact aquatic creatures, turtles and birds. According to the first study on estimation of human ingestion of microplastic, on average a person consumes at least 50,000 particles of microplastic a year and breathes a similar quantity. Ingested microplastic particles can physically damage organs and also compromise immune function and stymie growth and reproduction. This book presents six informative chapters in order to alleviate the above mentioned issues​.

This book provides comprehensive coverage of the theoretical developments and technological breakthroughs that have deepened our understanding of environmental pollution and human health, while also promoting a comprehensive strategy to address these problems. The respective chapters highlight groundbreaking concepts fueling the development of environmental chemistry and toxicology; revolutionary analytical and computational approaches providing novel insights into environmental health; and nature-inspired, innovative engineering solutions for tackling complex hazardous exposures. The book also features a forward-looking perspective on emerging environmental issues that call for new research and regulatory paradigms, laying the groundwork for future advances in the broad field of environmental chemistry and toxicology. Written by respected authorities in the field, A New Paradigm for Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology - From Concepts to Insights will offer an invaluable reference guide for concerned researchers and professional practitioners for years to come.

Reviews of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology provides concise, critical reviews of timely advances, philosophy and significant areas of accomplished or needed endeavor in the total field of xenobiotics, in any segment of the environment, as well as toxicological implications.

Reviews of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology attempts to provide concise, critical reviews of timely advances, philosophy and significant areas of accomplished or needed endeavor in the total field of xenobiotics, in any segment of the environment, as well as toxicological implications.    Chapter "Prioritization of Pesticides for Assessment of Risk to Aquatic Ecosystems in Canada and Identification of Knowledge Gaps" is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via springer.com.

This book demonstrates the measurement, monitoring and mapping of environmental contaminants in soil & sediment, surface & groundwater and atmosphere. This book explores state-of-art techniques based on methodological and modeling in modern geospatial techniques specifically focusing on the recent trends in data mining techniques and robust modeling. It also presents modifications of and improvements to existing control technologies for remediation of environmental contaminants. In addition, it includes three separate sections on contaminants, risk assessment and remediation of different existing and emerging pollutants. It covers major topics such as: Radioactive Wastes, Solid and Hazardous Wastes, Heavy Metal Contaminants, Arsenic Contaminants, Microplastic Pollution, Microbiology of Soil and Sediments, Soil Salinity and Sodicity, Aquatic Ecotoxicity Assessment, Fluoride Contamination, Hydrochemistry, Geochemistry, Indoor Pollution and Human Health aspects. The content of this book will be of interest to researchers, professionals, and policymakers whose work involves environmental contaminants and related solutions.