It can be useful to look at some reference sources (like encyclopedias) when you are beginning research on an unfamiliar topic. Typically, you would not cite these sources in a scholarly paper. Credo is a library database filled with encyclopedias and other reference works.
Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
Search for books, articles, and more.
News articles can be a little harder to find through the Discovery Service. If you need news, try searching Access World News or signing up for a free New York Times web account.
Combines experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as told by the news media, 2010 to today. Updated daily. Articles in English and Spanish.
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
Your CofC email address gets you full access to the New York Times online platform, including the NYT mobile apps.
To access The New York Times, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos, and more. The College of Charleston's subscription does not include access to add-ons like The Athletic or Games. Faculty and staff may need to re-verify their accounts annually.
The Internet contains millions of images, and it is usually easy to download a copy of an image for reuse in a presentation or some other project.
Keep in mind two things:
One way to find these images is through a Google image search. Do a regular search on Google, then click Images, or start at images.google.com.
Use the Tools to find images that are high quality and licensed for reuse:
Many of the images online that can be freely reused have something called a Creative Commons license. Look for the CC logo as you are searching. There are different types of CC licenses, but all of them allow you to use a CC-licensed work for noncommercial purposes (like education), as long as you credit the person who created it.
Try some of the following sites to find high-quality, reusable images licensed with Creative Commons or similar open licenses.
Connect Google Scholar to CofC Libraries to enjoy efficient access to subscription journal articles that you find in Google Scholar searches.
How to Configure
