LibGuides: HPCP 199: Introduction to Historic Preservation: Find Sources

Published Resources

The Buildings of Charleston by Jonathan Poston
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Offering the present-day traveller a portable, street-by-street guide to the town of Charleston, this illustrated book focuses primarily on the architecture of this preserved cityscape. The guide divides the city into nine geographic areas, with an introductory essay, maps, and illustrations.
Robert Mills by John M. Bryan; Robert Lautman (Photographer)
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
The first architect trained in America, Robert Mills is best known as the designer of many iconic buildings in our nation's capital: the Washington Monument, the Department of Treasury headquarters, the Patent Office Building (now National Portrait Gallery), and the Post Office Headquarters. Author John Bryan weaves the history of Mills's architectural designs and engineering inventions together with the lives of the individuals who most influenced him, and shows how he can rightly be called our founding father of architecture.
Early Architecture of Charleston by Albert Simons; Samuel Lapham
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
A beautiful book on the architecture of the famous Port City.
Architects of Charleston by Beatrice Ravenel
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Charleston Gardens and the Landscape Legacy of Loutrel Briggs by James R. Cothran
Publication Date: 2010-09-17
Charleston Gardens and the Landscape Legacy of Loutrel Briggs provides a fascinating account of the life and career of renowned landscape architect Loutrel Briggs (1893-1977), the individual most directly responsible for the development of Charleston's distinctive garden style.
Charleston Architecture, 1670-1860 by Gene Waddell
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
This book is about how a consistently high standard of excellence was achieved in Charleston architecture in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Regardless of what style Charleston's architects used—Greek or Roman, Gothic or Renaissance, Adamesque or Greek Revival—they were in agreement about what constituted excellence. Special emphasis is placed on the knowledge that was required to create Charleston's early architecture. An introduction discusses the writings and buildings of Andrea Palladio, Robert Adam, A. Welby Pugin, and other influential architects. Sources of inspiration for Charleston buildings have included specific buildings in Greece, Italy, England, France and Germany. Whenever possible, primary sources of information were used to determine how various types of Charleston buildings were designed and constructed. A dozen of the city's best-documented buildings are considered in detail as a basis for comparison:
Sacred Places of the Lowcountry by William P. Baldwin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
This collection of images from the Historic American Buildings Survey, an effort to catalogue and document the architecture and building culture of America, captures the holiness and haunting beauty of over fifty sacred grounds in South Carolina. Through his selection of these photographs, William P. Baldwin attests to the awe that each site inspires and proves that ?as they evoke that better, that sober and gentler angel of ourselves, they are indeed sacred places.'

Published Resources

Charleston : antebellum architecture and civic destiny (Kenneth Severens)
Charlotte Street : a historic resource survey of Charlotte Street in the Mazyckborough and Wraggborough neiborhoods of the upper eastern peninsula, Charleston, South Carolina (Connie Miller-Matthews)
The City of Charleston and State of South Carolina: with numerous engravings illustrating the architecture and environs of the city (Andrew Morrison)
The City of Charleston Tour Guide Training Manual (City of Charleston)
Complete Charleston: a guide to the architecture, history, and gardens of Charleston (Margaret H. Moore)
Documentation of the architecture of Samuel Lapham and the firm of Simons & Lapham (Ernest Everett Blevins)
The Evolution of Rainbow Row (Robert Stockton)
Examples of colonial architecture in South Carolina and Georgia (Edward A. Crane and E. E. Soderholtz)
Historic Building Survey of Lower King Street (between Calhoun Street and Murray Boulevard) Charleston, South Carolina (Christina Scott and Joseph Reynolds)
Measured Drawings of Charleston Houses, Churches and Public houses (James Polzois)
Record of Earthquake Damages. Compiled following the 1886 earthquake in Charleston, this report is arranged numerically by street. Information includes Sanborn Map coordinates, property owner name, building material description, dimensions, extent of damage, and remarks on repairs. Patrons are requested to use microform copies (50-221 or 45-369)
South Carolina Deed Abstracts (Clara Langley and Brent Holcomb)
This is Charleston : a survey of the architectural heritage of a unique American city (Samuel Gaillard Stoney)

Subject Specific Databases

World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Research Help

Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.

Start your Research

HPCP 199: Introduction to Historic Preservation: Find Sources

Discover CofC Libraries

Published Resources

Published Resources

Subject Specific Databases

Research Help