Most of our library resources do not understand natural language. For these sources, identifying keywords can be useful. For example, to identify keywords, I used the Subject Terms thesaurus in Academic Search Complete to find the following keywords related to disability studies:
Under the broad term disability studies, I found
Try this with other databases, such as the thesaurus found in APA PsycArticles and APA PsycInfo, and in Education Full Text and ERIC.
The purpose of an encyclopedia is to provide basic information about a topic.
Within the article, you should encounter important terms, the names of notable people, and background information on the topic. This can help you establish a foundation for your research.
Where possible, use the bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia article.
I totally get it! Generating keywords for a research topic can be a daunting task. Where do you even start?
Luckily, California State University has created a nifty Keyword Generator tool for you to get an easy step-by-step guide on creating effective keywords that will bring you great results as you explore the library catalog and databases.
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist and includes bibliographies of key sources.
Provides comprehensive access to newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire services, and blogs from around the globe as well as extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Content covers all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
