HIST 299: Historian's Craft: Find Background Info

This 3-vol. set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Transgender studies, broadly defined, has become increasingly prominent as a field of study over the past several decades, particularly in the last ten years. The experiences and rights of trans people have also increasingly become the subject of news coverage, such as the ability of trans people to access restrooms, their participation in the military, the issuing of driver's licenses that allow a third gender option, the growing visibility of nonbinary trans teens, the denial of gender-affirming health care to trans youth, and the media's misgendering of trans actors.With more and more trans people being open about their gender identities, doctors, nurses, psychologists, social workers, counselors, educators, higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, and others are increasingly working with trans individuals who are out. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies can go a long way toward correcting misconceptions and providing information that is otherwise not readily available.This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter). Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.

A comprehensive volume of reference with contributions from over 600 scholars, this book improves with each edition. It was published first in French, and with each new edition there have been additions to the contents. It addresses political and economic features as well as religion, the history of ideas and cultural developments, and progress in technology and the superb artistic achievements of the time. It justly claims to provide `a magisterial sweep' with `a fresh approach' ensuring its constant use as a modern work of reference.

The Historical Dictionary of the Renaissance covers the history of Western and Central Europe from about 1350 to the early 17th century. It emphasizes those persons, movements, and places that are especially important in the growth of the humanistic culture and the new artistic and musical styles that are the most important aspects of European history in this period. The heart of the book is the alphabetically organized dictionary.

The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship.Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groupsfrom various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.

Authoritative and up-to-date, A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events of this century. Over 2,500 entries span political, diplomatic, and military history as well as offering both fact and analysis of these areas. Author Jan Palmowski combines full international coverage with detailed entries for every country in the world. Some of the special features of this volume are the biographies of such world leaders as Stalin, Kennedy, Thatcher, Yeltsin, Mandela, Rabin, and Netanyahu and the coverage of political events and movements from the rise and demise of communism to the collapse of the Berlin Wall, and from the end of apartheid to the Whitewater scandal. Key battles are highlighted from Yprès to the Gulf War campaign to the Bosnian Civil War and events such as the Chernobyl disaster. Comprehensive attention is paid to major treaties and political agreements from Versailles to Maastricht, and from the Anglo-Irish Agreement to the Dayton Accords. Useful tables including lists of office-holders for countries and organizations and winners of the Nobel Peace Prize are also provided. A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History is an invaluable reference work for student, teachers, and anyone with an interest in the major figures and events of our modern world.