Getting background information and general facts about your topic is a good way to start your research. This not only helps you better understand your topic, but it also helps you formulate the boundaries of your research and key terms for your thesis statement. It can be a helpful guide to begin to narrow down your topic into a coherent and specific area.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantialessays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading ofliterature was significant.An ideal companion to The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, this set will prove invaluable for students, scholars, and general readers.For more information, including a complete table of contents and list of contributors, please visit www.oup.com/us/ebl
Describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the 18th and 19th centuries. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Contains hundreds of thousands of records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Integrates easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their web searches according to author, title, series, awards and other criteria.
Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames.
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
