An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Offers in-depth coverage of the critical issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race and provides authoritative coverage of many historic changes including Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
A unique collection that provides an unprecedented and irreplaceable record of African American lives, history, and culture. Includes over 12,000 hours of video oral history interviews covering a variety of topics and fields including the arts, business, civic engagement, education, entertainment, law, medicine, and many more.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Provides access to Newspaper.com Library Edition World Collection which contains thousands of historical newspapers from well-known regional and smaller local papers published in the United States, England, Canada, and other countries, with coverage ranging from the late 1600s to the 2000s.
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Includes primary source resources in the areas of African American studies, African studies, American and British history, military history, radical studies, LGBTQ+ studies, and more. For a complete list of the collections available to the College of Charleston, click the Browse Collections tab.
A weekly newspaper covering Civil Rights in the South 1965-68.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Provides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Explore primary sources in Special Collections, Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture, and SCHS
Access the spreadsheet listing of Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture's vertical files? Use the button below to find out more!
