The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Ready to start your research but not sure where to begin? Can't remember what the librarian said during a class? Use the Start your Research button below to get tips and helpful insight! Don't forget you can also schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian for more assistance!
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
Database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.
Full text database of important archival material dating back to 1970. Includes the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to present.
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Human Resource Area Files is a cross-cultural database on all aspects of human behavior, society, and culture. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
An index to over 1,700 journals covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also provides provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than three million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Full text articles from scholarly journals in behavioral science and related fields. Includes all journals from the American Psychological Association plus the Canadian Psychological Association.
Provides coverage of hundreds of full text, peer-reviewed titles. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
What is a Scholarly Article or Book?
A scholarly article or book generally is based on original research or experimentation. It is written by a researcher or expert in the field who is often affiliated with a college or university. Most scholarly writing includes footnotes and/or a bibliography and may include graphs or charts as illustrations as opposed to glossy pictures. In addition, articles that appear in scholarly journals or book that are published by academic presses, are subject to a peer-review process, which means that other "experts" or specialist in the field evaluate the quality and originality of the research as precondition of publication.
The peer-review (as opposed to editorial review) process is also one thing that sets scholarly journals apart from journals that may otherwise seem quite similar. Journals such as Foreign Affairs, for instance, are generally not considered "scholarly journals," because many of the articles are solicited by the magazine's editors; in addition many of the articles are written by policy-makers who may be expressing an informed view, but whose article may not be based on original research.
