Latin American and Caribbean Studies Research: Find Sources

Sources in translation posted on Fordham University's Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

Sources in translation, posted on Fordham University's Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

A cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Online resource for the Brazilian military dictatorship, 1964-85. Includes documents and press clippings on censorship, trials, police activity, left-wing groups and much more. There are also links to relevant archives.

An online collection of texts written in and/or about the Americas from 1492 to about 1820.

This is a gateway to various Latin American resources at the Library of Congress.

A comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings.

A collection of more than 5,000 scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries, covering a variety of topics related to cultural life, boundary disputes, religion, and politics from numerous countries.

Academic studies based on survey research conducted mainly in Latin America.

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

Official site containing official documents, treaties, legal opinions, resolutions, declarations, news, etc., in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French.

Nearly 700 digitized items for the region, including photographs, maps, books, and manuscripts. Fully searchable.

Information collected by Georgetown University on Latin American political, legislative, and judicial systems.