LibGuides: SC LGBTQ+ Collection: Databases and Articles

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Check out their LGBTQ section.
Project Muse - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
Gale Case Studies This link opens in a new window
Developed by university faculty and incorporating primary source documents, Gale Case Studies provide course ready modules addressing six key topic areas critical to higher education, including Intersectional LGBTQ issues, Public Health, Political Extremism, Race and Civil Rights, Refugees and Migration, and Women's issues.
Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from archival collections for research and teaching. The College of Charleston Libraries provides access to the Colonial America collection on the Adam Matthew platform. This collection from the National Archives (UK), makes available correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies from 1606 to 1822.
To request that the Libraries purchase other collections from Adam Matthew, please submit your request using the New Databases and Journals Request Form.

LGBTQ-specific databases

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of important archival material dating back to 1970. Includes the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes fully digitized access to archival runs of the most influential LGBT magazines in the US and the UK, exploring a range of important LGBTQ+ topics like health, politics, activism and more. Coverage ranges from volume 1 to 2015 (Collection 1) to 2020 (Collection 2), or the publication ceased date.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage spans from 1972 and earlier to present.

A-Z Databases

View the alphabetical listing of all library databases.

A-Z Databases

Journals

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly is an open source scholarly journal published by Duke University Press that offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives. TSQ publishes interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship. Its mission is to foster a vigorous conversation among scholars, artists, activists, and others that examines how “transgender” comes into play as a category, a process, a social assemblage, an increasingly intelligible gender identity, an identifiable threat to gender normativity, and a rubric for understanding the variability and contingency of gender across time, space, and cultures.