LibGuides: Marketing Research: Find Background Info

Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.

Finding Background Info in Books

Academic and research libraries typically use Library of Congress Classification (LCC) to organize their print materials, which means books on the same subject should be next to or near each other on the shelf. This information can be used to find books in person or via the Library Catalog.

Example LCC call number ranges:

HD9000-9999 Special industries and trades*
HF5410-5417.5 Marketing. Distribution of products
HF5437-5444 Purchasing. Selling. Sales personnel. Sales executives
HF5801-6182 Advertising

Example LCC subject headings:

*Use for the marketing of a particular product/service.

Other Resources for Background Info

These reference materials are available online (click the link under View Online).

Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts
Publication Date: 2013
From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it.
A Dictionary of Marketing
Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,600 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands and social movements from 2015-2018. Entries profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and other media strategies.

These websites are freely available online. No username or password necessary!

Common Language Marketing Dictionary
Marketing Accountability Standards Board
Glossary of Digital Marketing Terms
MarketingTerms.com
Glossary of Terminology
Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB)
KnowThis
KnowThis.com
What is Marketing? The Definitions of Marketing
American Marketing Association (AMA)