During our library research session, we will:
Following our session and completion of the related activity, you should be ready to conduct research for your diaspora project.
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
To access The New York Times, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff must create an account by clicking the link above, searching for and selecting "College of Charleston" from the list, clicking "Create Account" and completing the registration using their CofC email address, and finally, verifying their accounts through the confirmation email sent by The New York Times. Once registered and verified, College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times (NYTimes.com), including the archives (dating back to 1851), podcasts, newsletters, videos, and more. The College of Charleston's subscription does not include access to add-ons like The Athletic or Games. Faculty and staff may need to re-verify their accounts annually.
Provides unlimited site-wide access to The Wall Street Journal. Enjoy articles, opinions, reviews, videos, and more. To access The Wall Street Journal, CofC students, faculty, and staff will need to register their accounts by clicking the link above. If you have never used your CofC email address to access The Wall Street Journal, you will need to register it by completing the form. If you have previously used your CofC email to access The Wall Street Journal, click the “Sign In” button and verify your CofC email address. Access to The Wall Street Journal is provided by the School of Business.
Provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Coverage: 1980s-current
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
A comprehensive database and search engine for public policy grey literature (information published outside of traditional commercial or academic publishing channels), including reports, policy briefs, working papers, and other materials.
Leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block up to the national level. Users can also upload data and customize searches.
U.S. government's official web portal, providing free, searchable, online access to federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal government.
GPO's official system for Federal information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
Contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set as well as thousands of scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and more.
Connect Google Scholar to CofC Libraries to enjoy efficient access to subscription journal articles that you find in Google Scholar searches.
How to Configure