Psychology Research: Find Background Info

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) is the most widely used and accepted scheme for diagnosing mental disorders in the United States and beyond. DSM-5 was released with profound changes revealed in the required diagnostic process, specific criteria for previously established diagnoses, as well as the addition and deletion of specific mental disorders. DSM-5® and the Law provides an excellent summary of the DSM-5 diagnostic changes and the implications of these changes in various types of criminal and civil litigation.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion is a greatly expanded and updated reference work that builds on the foundation of the highly successful previous edition. The first to integrate psychology and religion in the context of modern social and behavioral sciences, Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion continues to offer a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. A significant number of new entries and of updated original entries provide even more comprehensive coverage. This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes. It provides a technical and phenomenological vocabulary that will enable collaboration and dialogue among researchers in both fields. Easy to read and scrupulously edited, the encyclopedia draws from different religions, including modern world religions and older religious movements. It is of particular interest to researchers and professionals in psychology and religion.

This two-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; 40 landmark case studies and experiments; over 30 primary source materials; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 800 articles -- 150 of those are entirely new and 650 are updated since the last edition. Each article ranges from 25 to 1, 500 words, covering the topics researchers want to know about, including: Advertising psychology, Alzheimers disease, Autism, Deep brain stimulation, Sigmund Freud, Meditation, Posttraumatic stress disorder (PSTD), Benjamin Spock, Sports psychology, Stanford Prison experiment, Test anxiety, Unconscious motivation, and Workplace violence. In addition to that there are more than 200 photographs, charts and graphs, students will also find Key Terms and Further reading sections, as well as an expanded glossary, an updated organizations appendix and an in-depth two-level index.

This encyclopedia offers an up to date account of the way that educational practise at all levels are being deeply impacted and changed by innovation. It provides essential entries covering details insights into the economics, sociology, management and psychology of education but also how education is affected by philosophy, history, web science and Internet Studies. It embraces fields such as collective intelligence, social media and network analysis, artificial intelligence, automation and deep learning.

This comprehensive, twelve volume reference work reflects the interdisciplinary influences on evolutionary psychology and serves as a major resource for its history, scientific contributors and theories. It draws on biology, cognitive science, anthropology, psychology, economics, computer science and paleoarchaeology to provide a multifaceted picture of behavioral adaptation in humans and how it adds to our academic and clinical understanding. Edited by a noted figure in evolutionary psychology, with many seminal and renowned contributors, this encyclopedia offers the full breadth of an area that is the forefront of behavioral thinking and investigation.