LibGuides: Supply Chain Management Research: Find Background Info

Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.

Finding Background Info in Books

Academic and research libraries typically use Library of Congress Classification (LCC) to organize their print materials, which means books on the same subject should be next to or near each other on the shelf. This information can be used to find books in person or via the Library Catalog.

Example LCC call number ranges:

HD28-70 Management. Industrial management
HF5410-5417.5 Marketing. Distribution of products
HF5761-5780 Shipment of goods. Delivery of goods
TS155-194 Production management. Operations management

Example LCC subject headings:

Other Resources for Background Info

These reference materials are available online (click the link under View Online).

The Encyclopedia of Operations Management
Publication Date: 2011
This is the perfect "field manual" for every supply chain or operations management practitioner and student. The field's only single-volume reference, it's uniquely convenient and uniquely affordable. With nearly 1,500 well-organized definitions, it can help students quickly map all areas of operations and supply chain management, and prepare for case discussions, exams, and job interviews. For instructors, it serves as an invaluable desk reference and teaching aid that goes far beyond typical dictionaries. For working managers, it offers a shared language, with insights for improving any process and supporting any training program.
Essentials of Supply Chain Management
Publication Date: 2018
The bestselling guide to the field, updated with the latest innovations Essentials of Supply Chain Management is the definitive guide to the field, providing both broad coverage and necessary detail from a practical, real-world perspective. From clear explanation of fundamental concepts to insightful discussion of supply chain innovation, this book offers students and professionals a comprehensive introduction with immediately-applicable understanding. The fourth edition has been updated to reflect the current state of the field, with coverage of the latest technologies and new case studies that illustrate critical concepts in action.
The Handbook of Logistics and Distribution Management
Publication Date: 2017
Get a complete coverage on all the key aspects of distribution, logistics and supply chain planning and management with clear and straightforward explanations from the definitive guide to supply chain philosophy, strategy and the practicalities of logistics and distribution. The Handbook of Logistics and Distribution Management is a step-by-step guide to setting up and managing supply chains to add maximum value to the organizations they serve.

These websites are freely available online. No username or password necessary!

Glossary of Supply Chain Terms
Inbound Logistics
How Products Are Made
Advameg, Inc.
Logistics Glossary
Georgia Tech Supply Chain and Logistics Institute
Supply Chain and Logistics Glossary
Orion Global
Supply Chain Glossary of Terms
Logistics Bureau
Supply Chain Management Definitions and Glossary
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP)