The African Intelligencer, vol. 1, no. 1, July 1820, title page. Journal. Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress
A collection of FBI reports which includes the investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Due to excessively high inflation, as of January 2025, the College of Charleston's subscription to AM Explorer will be canceled. We may still retain access to a very limited number of collections. For more information, please contact Allison Jones, Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian (jonesak@cofc.edu). Provides millions of pages of primary sources, spanning the 15th to 21st centuries, with various themes including Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History and more.
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
