The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
Learn how to use eBooks, including reading online and downloading in various platforms.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
An index to over 1,700 journals covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also provides provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
Includes more than 490 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries.
Expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than three million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields. Covers 1966 to the present.
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
Includes more than 490 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries.
Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames.
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive index of scholarly journals and series in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1926 to the present.
Covers the early history of African American poetry from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
MEDLINE Complete provides the authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
