LibGuides: Art History Research : Art History 280-01

Library Day Overview

Getting Started at the Library & Requesting a Research Consultation
Library Website
Library Day Survey (JP)
I appreciate your feedback on today's session!

Developing a Research Question

Developing a Research Question
Goals: Digital Exhibit with 5 Baroque artworks or buildings, 3 must be new works not discussed in class. How will you build your own interpretation?
Developing your Research Question
Review strategies for developing strong research questions.

Background Information Resources

Definition: Baroque 1600-1750, 17th century Western European art/music, a cultural and art movement that characterized Europe from the early seventeenth to mid-eighteenth century. The Baroque period is divided into three major phases: early, middle, and late. Overlapping in time, they are conventionally dated from 1580 to 1650, from 1630 to 1700, and from 1680 to 1750.
Identify Topic: Female Baroque Artists, Maria Sibylla Merian

The Ladies of Baroque Exhibit
October 20, 2018 – January 20, 2019 at Musee des Beaux-Arts de Gand in Ghent, Belgium.
Waser and Merian – Two trailblazing female artists of the Baroque Era
The Baroque period saw increasing numbers of female artists begin to question the social structures of the age. The stories of Anna Waser and Maria Sibylla Merian demonstrate how these female artists fully bore comparison with their male contemporaries. Michèle Seehafer is an art historian and currently postdoctoral fellow at the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam and at the Museum of National History in Denmark. This article links to numerous image repositories.
A Pioneering Woman of Science Re-Emerges After 300 Years
New York Times Article by Joanna Klein (Jan. 24, 2017).
Cornelia Hesse-Honegger

Background Information

Background Information Resources
Finding Background Information
Background Information helps you better understand your topic, develop keywords, and narrow down your research.

Research & Issues: These Baroque female painters greatly impacted art: Maria Sibylla Merian, Artemisia Gentileschi, Judith Leyster, Lavinia Fontana, and Mary Beale.

International Dictionary of Art and Artists by James Vinson (Editor)
This forms part of a two-volume work covering works of art and artists. This volume includes entries for 500 artists (painters, sculptors, engravers, etc) from Western Europe and the Americas from the Renaissance to the present day.
Available Online.

International Dictionary of Art and Artists: Maria Sibylla Merian
Credo Reference: Baroque, in Art & Architecture
Search for Maria Sibylla Merian, Scientific Illustrators
Credo Reference: Maria Sibylla Merian
Hidden women of history: Maria Sibylla Merian, 17th-century entomologist and scientific adventurer (Jan. 2020)
Credo Search, leads to additional peer reviewed articles.
Merian, Maria Sibylla from A to Z of Women: Women in Science and Math
Credo Reference Search Results: Leads to Library Catalog.

Finding Sources

Find Sources
Find Sources for your Research
Search subject-specific databases and resources for the most relevant information to your discipline.

Refine by Narrowing your Topic: Who, What, Where, When, Why, How
Requirements:
- Digital Exhibit with 5 baroque artworks or buildings, 3 must be new works not discussed in class
- 3 peer review sources (library databases)
A Few Notes:
- Difference between a book review and and book source that you can go look at (not a research article)
- Some sources the 1960s and earlier are OK - More contemporary sources should also be included

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Provides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.

Search CofC Libraries Discovery Service

Search for books, articles, and more.

Read & Evaluate Your Sources

Read & Evaluate Your Sources
Read and Evaluate your Sources
Review strategies to read and evaluate your sources to ensure they are authoritative, credible, and reliable.

Write & Cite

Write & Cite
Writing and Citing
Putting it all together! Find resources to help you through the writing and citing process.

Citing Sources and Images:
- Chicago Citation style: -peer reviewed articles and images.

Citing Images: Example
Art History
Founded in 1978 as the official journal of the Association of Art Historians, Art History is now well established as a leading journal internationally, covering all aspects of the visual arts, from prehistory to the present day, including architecture, design and the history of photography and film. It also explores art history in relation to other subjects where art is significant or which have an influence on and implications for art itself such as religion, archaeology, politics and literature.
Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art.

Artist: Attributed to Georg Flegel (German, Olomouc (Olmütz) 1566–1638 Frankfurt), and Former Attribution: Formerly attributed to Maria Sibylla Merian (German, 1647–1717 (active Holland)). Studies of Fruits, Insects and Shells. late 16th–mid-17th century. Watercolor on parchment, 3 5/8 x 4 7/16 in. (9.2 x 11.3 cm). The Metropolitan Museum of Art. https://jstor.org/stable/community.18606356.

Maria Sibylla Merian (1647-1717). "Granaat-Boom", aus: Metamorphisis Insectorum Surinamensium (Das Insektenbuch), SLUB S.B.3088 (Zool. 145) by Ludwig, Herbert (Herstellung) (Fotograf) - Deutsche Fotothek, Germany - Public Domain.
https://www.europeana.eu/item/188/item_CGNE7QWD6ZFUARK26XLS6XMTCCOCVMHP

Research & Instruction Librarian

Jolanda-Pieta (Joey) van Arnhem M.F.A., M.L.I.S.

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Addlestone Library, Room 101

843.953.3604

Subjects: Art, Art History, Arts Management, Computing in the Arts, Dance, Music, Studio Art, Theatre

Art History Research : Art History 280-01