LibGuides: Digital Primary and Secondary Sources: Newspapers and Periodicals

Local Newspapers

Charleston Museum Illustrated Newspaper Collection
These images are from the collection of illustrated newspapers, primarily Harper’s Weekly and Frank Leslie’s, housed in the archives at the Charleston Museum.
Charleston Naval Shipyard Newsletters
Newspaper printed for the civilian employees of the Charleston Naval Shipyard. This collection includes 20 volumes spanning the years 1943-1962.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida/Georgia/Tennessee/Virginia And Alabama This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspaper articles from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama, ranging from 1861-1865.
Southern Courier This link opens in a new window
A weekly newspaper covering Civil Rights in the South 1965-68.
State (Columbia, SC) This link opens in a new window
Coverage for The State (Columbia, SC): 1987-present from NewsBank's Access World News.

American Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.

Chronicling America
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2020
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County
This database documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text article access from 1984 until present.

Service Newspapers of World War II
This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.

International Newspapers

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents, and other publications. Also Included in this collection are Ethnic, African American, Military, Government & Defense, South Carolina news sources image editions of The Post and Courier and The State.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Societyone of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositoriesthis collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, politics and daily life. Featuring more than 140 eighteenth and nineteenth century titles, this unique resource is essential for researching Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and many other aspects of the cultures and societies of the West Indies.
Irish Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Irish Historical Newspapers contains 15 essential newspapers from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland spanning more than 250 years from 1738 to 2004.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of current newspapers and magazines from around the world.
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.