Getting background information and general facts about your topic is a good way to start your research. This not only helps you better understand your topic, but it also helps you formulate the boundaries of your research and key terms for your thesis statement. It can be a helpful guide to begin to narrow down your topic into a coherent and specific area.
College of Charleston libraries use the Library of Congress classification system to organize print materials, which means books on the same subject should be next to or near each other on the shelf. This information can be used to find books in person or via the Library Catalog.
Library of Congress call number ranges:
Explore for yourself at Library of Congress classification system
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
The second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,200 up-to-date entries on all aspects of astronomy. Edited by renowned author and broadcaster Ian Ridpath, with the help of over 20 expert contributors, it covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, toastrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time. The dictionary also features biographical entries on eminent astronomers, as well as worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. Appendices include tables of Apollo lunar landing missions and the constellations. Entries are supported bynumerous tables and diagrams.The text has been fully revised and updated for the second edition, and includes information on new space missions, and ones that have come to fruition (such as the Huygens Probe). It also boasts entry-level web links and highlighted entries on topics sich as the Big Bang theory, black holes, galaxyevolution, and SETI.An invaluable reference source for students, professionals, amateur astronomers, and for space enthusiasts.
A Dictionary of Physics by
This is the most popular dictionary of physics available. It contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With 200 new entries and expanded coverage inareas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience, A Dictionary of Physics is more comprehensive than ever before.The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Feature entries provide in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, and the solar system. Three feature entries onlow-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement are brand new to this edition. Also new to this edition are entry-level web links and a web linked appendix. These recommended web links are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physics companion web page and provideuseful and relevant extra information. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics.This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with an interest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.
The Handbook of Meteorology by
The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It provides scientific answers to questions that arise when looking at the world around us. It starts with the basics of weather-temperature, pressure, humidity, and wind-before moving on to cover highs, lows, fronts, and storms, and finally ending with a look at weather forecasts, cloud watching, weather tools, and much more. The Handbook of Meteorology provides a condensed but all-inclusive broad sweep of meteorology, employing several illustrations to translate detailed technical information into terms that everyone can follow and readily refer to. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom.
