LibGuides: Physics Research: Find Sources

Research Help

Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.

Subject Specific Databases

Websites

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Imagine the Universe
This site is primarily dedicated to a discussion of the High-Energy region of the electromagnetic spectrum, i.e. X-rays and gamma-rays, and the science that can come from examining the universe in those regions.

NASA
Download the latest imagery from the Hubble Space Telescope, read about recent uses of NASA-developed technology by private industry, watch a short video of the first human landing on the Moon or view the latest microgravity science experiment underway aboard the planned international Space Station.

Physics Web
Physics news, jobs, and resources.

PhysLink.com
The PhysLink.com is a comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference web site. In addition to providing high-quality content, PhysLink.com is a meeting place for professionals, students and other curious minds.

Aladin Sky Atlas an interactive sky atlas

Astronomical Almanac Online
Contains precise ephemerides of the Sun, Moon, planets, and satellites, data for eclipses and other astronomical phenomena for a given year, and serves as a world-wide standard for such information.

Astronomical Sky Calendar

Consolidated Lunar Atlas - from Lunar and Planetary Institute

International Space Station - from NASA

Multiwavelength Milky Way from NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED)

The Nine Planets - a multimedia tour of the solar system

Your Sky - the interactive planetarium of the Web

Meteorology Web Resources

About Derechos
Provides a variety of information about a derecho.
A Career Guide for the Atmospheric Sciences
The guide developed by the American Meteorological Society provides information of education and career opportunities in the atmospheric sciences.
Careers in Meteorology
Prepared by the National Weather Service Forecast Office, San Diego, and provides job information for those interested in meteorology.
Carolinas Precipitation Patterns & Probabilities An Atlas of Hydroclimate Extremes
This digital atlas of hydroclimate extremes brings together information on precipitation patterns in the Carolinas over the past 120 years. It is intended to complement existing information sources on extreme precipitation (e.g., NOAA's Atlas 14) and drought (e.g., products of the National Drought Mitigation Center). Its maps and figures show various measures of precipitation and drought. Some are those used operationally by resource managers; others are new or offer spatial or temporal resolution not readily available from other sources.

The atlas also allows users to explore probability distributions and recurrence intervals for a large number of stations across the Carolinas.
Enhanced Fujita Scale
Provides an explanation of the enhanced Fujita Scale.
Meteorological Measurements, Units, and Conversions
This page was created by Chris Ferry and Paul Dornsife at Penn State Department of Meteorology and is useful to meteorologists who need help remembering units, constants, and abbreviations.
NOAA’s NWS Storm Prediction Center Links
Maintained by the Storm Prediction Center, the web site links to information on all types of weather.
Science.gov
Science.gov is the gateway to reliable information about science and technology from across Federal government organizations. From science.gov, users can find over 1,000 government information resources about science. These resources include: technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites, and fact sheets.
Storm Events Database
Search the NCDC Storm Events Database to find various types of storms recorded in your county. The database currently contains data from 2000 to present, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS).
Storm Spotter Glossary
This glossary, A Comprehensive Glossary of Weather Terms for Storm Spotters (NOAA Technical Memorandum NWS SR-145) by Michael Branick, contains weather-related terms that may be either heard or used by severe local storm spotters or spotter groups as well as a number of meteorological terms and phrases accompanied by general definitions.
Weather Forecasts from Around the World
This provides weather forecasts from cities around the world.
WindandSea: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide
An extensive Internet guide developed by the NOAA Central Library's Reference Staff

Physics Research: Find Sources

Discover CofC Libraries

Research Help

Subject Specific Databases

Websites

Meteorology Web Resources