Getting background information and general facts about your topic is a good way to start your research. This not only helps you better understand your topic, but it also helps you formulate the boundaries of your research and key terms for your thesis statement. It can be a helpful guide to begin to narrow down your topic into a coherent and specific area.
Offers topic overviews and pro/con viewpoints on thousands of current issues. Includes newspapers and periodicals, images, videos, and audio selections.
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist and includes bibliographies of key sources.
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Irish Historical Newspapers contains 15 essential newspapers from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland spanning more than 250 years from 1738 to 2004.
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2020
