LibGuides: ENGL 111 (Moore): Monument Research

Digital Libraries

Digital libraries bring history alive with online primary source material. Find pictures, letters, documents, oral histories, etc.

Library of Congress
Includes numerous digital resources such as newspapers, maps, sketches, etc.
Low Country Digital Library
Online treasures of South Carolina, curated in partnership with CofC.
National Archives
Includes scanned images, documents, etc. held in the National Archives.
SC Department of Archives and History
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History is an independent state agency whose mission is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the Palmetto State. The department houses one of the most comprehensive state archival collections in the nation, spanning more than 325 years of South Carolina history.
South Carolina Digital Library
Digitized collections of the SC State Library
University of South Carolina Digital Library
Digitized documents held by USC.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Integrates the College of Charleston's Gale primary source collections into a single interface, making searching across multiple platforms seamless.

Addlestone Library Research Videos

Useful Websites

Use websites to find background information about your Monument. Only cite websites if your assignment permits you to do so. Make sure the website is an official site or is managed by a reputable institution.

National Park Service Data Store
NPS Data Store is a National Park Service database containing a variety of reports, articles, and books about national parks. Highlights include Natural Resources and History/Cultural Resources. In the Advanced Search, choose the Text Field dropdown and search for your national park in the title field.
United States Geological Survey
Search USGS site for any geology and environmental information related to specific locations.
National Park Service (South Carolina)
Map and list of National Park Service sites in South Carolina. Pages for each site have introductory information. ***Note that Fort Moultrie is included as part of the Fort Sumter National Monument***
National Register of Historic Places (South Carolina)
Read summaries of South Carolina sites listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Importantly, also view the original application for inclusion in the register. These are rich in detail and often contain bibliographies with references to useful material.
Wikipedia - SC Historic Landmarks
A useful place to find background information, but remember that anybody can edit this information. You probably shouldn't cite a Wikipedia page as a source. Pay attention to cited sources and external links at the bottom of pages to help you find authoritative information.
Confederate Monument Removal Mapping Project
Created in June 2020 and updated weekly, this mapping project seeks to document and map the Confederate monuments, memorials, and plaques removed, promised for removals and renaming and other examples connected with global white supremacy. The various layers help to provide some insight of a five-year period within the broader history of the Confederate monuments.