Includes more than 3,600 printed works about slavery, all digitized in full color. This diverse resource includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera published over the course of more than 100 years.
Includes primary source resources in the areas of African American studies, African studies, American and British history, military history, radical studies, LGBTQ+ studies, and more. For a complete list of the collections available to the College of Charleston, click the Browse Collections tab.
Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, this resource covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over a span of nearly 400 years and includes more than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
A collection of FBI reports which includes the investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States.
Benjamin J. Davis, Jr served as a leader in local, district, and national leadership bodies of the Communist Party USA and concerned himself with a broad range of organizational, political, and theoretical questions. This collection of FBI files was assembled by Dr. Gerald Horne, author of Black Liberation/Red Scare: Ben Davis and the Communist Party.
Archival collections documenting the most important and widely studied topics in eighteenth through twentieth century American history.
Provides insight into fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum. Access includes Part 1: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century and Part 2: Far Right Groups in America.
Documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
An archive of religious and theological literature. Series 1 covers from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew. Series 2 includes religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922 and showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western studies.
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, this resource covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over a span of nearly 400 years and includes more than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
Includes the research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
Consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.
The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle. Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.
Contains over 180,000 titles pertaining to 18th century research. Part I includes titles printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800. Part II contains nearly 50,000 titles from the British Library, the Bodleian Library, University of Cambridge, and others, and emphasizes the literature, social science, and religion of the eighteenth-century.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the French colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the German colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native people.
Comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets, presenting antisemitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.
Provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel.
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women's Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries.
Irish Historical Newspapers contains 15 essential newspapers from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland spanning more than 250 years from 1738 to 2004.
Consists of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Essential tool for scholars working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
This digital platform is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culturein short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Reproduction of the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Collections are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and include monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Current archives available for College of Charleston Libraries include British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture and Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925.
Consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.
Provides a historical time stamp and current affairs commentary on the transitional period in the Rastafari Movement's development, a period extending from the early 1970s to the present.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the antisemitic activities of the German Nazi Party.
Comprises documents from a wide variety of sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities.
Includes Bills and Acts, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Journals, Debates, and Histories and Proceedings from the 18th through the 21st century.
A comprehensive collection that offers a broad range of documents including many rare manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches.
Includes extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization.
Provides an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England.
