Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Developed in conjunction with ATLA, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials to African American religious life and culture.
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.
Due to excessively high inflation, as of January 2025, the College of Charleston's subscription to AM Explorer will be canceled. We may still retain access to a very limited number of collections. For more information, please contact Allison Jones, Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian (jonesak@cofc.edu). Provides millions of pages of primary sources, spanning the 15th to 21st centuries, with various themes including Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History and more.
Includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
Comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress.
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment.
Offers in-depth coverage of the critical issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race and provides authoritative coverage of many historic changes including Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
Contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Contents include memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, and more.
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
Provides an in-depth look at day-to-day actions of the troops, primarily in the form of regimental histories. These books were published after the war to document what actually happened.
Allows a look into the way the battles within the war were fought. Here the emphasis is on strategies and tactics as planned and executed by the commanding officers, with a longer-term view as opposed to daily concerns.
Consists of seven newspapers published in Indiana between the years of 1855 and 1869. These items provide pre-and-post-Civil War information, in addition to coverage of the Civil War itself.
This collection consists of memoirs, pamphlets, and regimental histories from the Civil War holdings at the University of Iowa.
Sources offer unique perspectives on the Civil War. They provide details on the organization and achievements of particular units, including such items as regimental rosters, transportation documents, honor rolls and casualty statistics and promotion and court martial documents.
An archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Includes diaries, illustrations, maps, letters and other correspondence, and more from over 400 individual collections.
A collection of generals' reports of service which represents an attempt by the Adjutant General's Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War.
Comprising various Staff and Office files from the Bush Presidency, this collection includes incoming letters, memoranda, reports, and printed material detailing routine correspondence from organizations such as the Environment Defense Fund, the Clean Air Working Group, the Utility Air Regulatory Group, National Environmental Development Association, American Paper Institute/National Forest Products Association, and the National Association of Manufacturers supporting or opposing specific provisions of the CAAA.
Contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
A collection of documents from the FBI's investigation of Hollywood from 1925-1941.
A collection of the FOIA files related to a variety of subjects under FBI surveillance due to their alleged Communist activities.
A collection of FBI reports on billionaire Howard Hughes, ranging from 1941-1981.
A collection of documents from 1932-1951 detailing the the FBI's investigation of Huey Long, who served as governor of Louisiana from 1928-1932.
A collection of FBI reports which includes the investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Consists of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed materials, including several hundred case files and publications produced and received by the Civil Rights Congress, which was established in 1946.
Includes essential materials for the study of early development of the Civil Rights Movement and provides insight into FDR's political style and presents an instructive example of how he balanced moral preferences with political realities.
From the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822-1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Full text database of important archival material dating back to 1970. Includes the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set as well as thousands of scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, presidential documents, and more.
Archival collections documenting the most important and widely studied topics in eighteenth through twentieth century American history.
Details Operation Oak Tree, the code name for the Army's plans to intervene in Alabama in the event of civil disturbances related to school integration in May 1963.
Comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Records of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees, 1938-1947.
Contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith's battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
The definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Serves as a companion to Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918 and consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia.
Consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States’ diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
Includes 122 case files reproduced from records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with Abraham Lincoln identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Includes the most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, with more than 1,500 publications of unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native American and European settlers.
Consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. Includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records.
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. PAO provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship.
Developed with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together award-winning content into one destination that can be used for research, teaching, and learning. Combining primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies, this easy-to-use interface will enable students to find the resources they need by topic pages, timelines, source types and more.
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. The material is presented in chronological order.
Consists of records of the United Domestic Workers Union (U.S.) from 1965-1979.
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
The South Carolina State Documents Depository provides access to publications produced by state agencies and state-supported academic institutions.
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
Records of the New York State Supreme Court which include a full testimony of all witnesses, including the two who spoke in secrecy to hide their identities; preliminary motions, summations, the court's charge, the verdicts, and the sentences; and a confession made years after the trial by one of the men convicted.
Declassified records that provide a detailed account of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship between the U.S. and Cuba in the era of Fidel Castro (1926-2016).
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Provides correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.
Details the Freedom Rides, which began the May 5, 1961, to challenge the status quo by riding various forms of public transportation in the South to challenge local laws or customs that enforced segregation.
An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
An archive of religious and theological literature. Series 1 covers from the late 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The collection covers diverse religious topics and includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek and Hebrew. Series 2 includes religious and theological literature from 1894 through 1922 and showcases the changing landscape of religion in America at the turn of the century, including the growing interest in non-Western studies.
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, this resource covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over a span of nearly 400 years and includes more than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera.
Includes the research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. For researchers of international affairs, economics, law, and business, diplomacy, security and terrorism, environment, development, war and peace studies.
Consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.
The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle. Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.
Contains over 180,000 titles pertaining to 18th century research. Part I includes titles printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800. Part II contains nearly 50,000 titles from the British Library, the Bodleian Library, University of Cambridge, and others, and emphasizes the literature, social science, and religion of the eighteenth-century.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the French colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the German colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial government and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native people.
Comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native people.
Comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets, presenting antisemitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.
Provides unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel.
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women's Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries.
Irish Historical Newspapers contains 15 essential newspapers from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland spanning more than 250 years from 1738 to 2004.
Consists of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Essential tool for scholars working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
This digital platform is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culturein short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Reproduction of the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Collections are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and include monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Current archives available for College of Charleston Libraries include British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture and Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925.
Consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia.
Provides a historical time stamp and current affairs commentary on the transitional period in the Rastafari Movement's development, a period extending from the early 1970s to the present.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the antisemitic activities of the German Nazi Party.
Comprises documents from a wide variety of sources, including the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities.
Includes Bills and Acts, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Journals, Debates, and Histories and Proceedings from the 18th through the 21st century.
A comprehensive collection that offers a broad range of documents including many rare manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches.
Includes extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization.
Provides an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England.
