Journal alerts allow you to set up specific search criteria about your topic in certain databases. You can then save these searches and have new information automatically sent to you when it becomes available. The information can be emailed or sent to your RSS feed reader.
A few database providers that offer Journal Alerts
Information for setting up EBSCO Journal alerts
Information for setting up Project Muse alerts
Information for setting up ProQuest Journal Alerts
How to set up a journal alert with Science Direct
What are Search Alerts?
Search alerts are a way to have important searches about your topic saved so that when new information is available, it will be automatically emailed to you or sent to your RSS feed reader. Search alerts are offered by Google and can be customized to fit your research needs.
Setting up a Google Search Alert
An RSS reader or news reader is a must-have to keep up with research. Here's a great video that explains RSS in Plain English. In counterpoint, this piece from the New York Observer offers some caveats. GoogleReader was once the king of RSS readers, but the search giant retired the service in July of 2013. Lifehacker explores some of the alternatives, including popular choice Feedly. Another popular application is netvibes, which creates a single dashboard for all your feeds, apps, and tweets and syncs across all your devices (desktop, mobile, and tablet).
Journals consist mostly of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published. Most are published by professional or academic organizations, for specialists in that field.
Journals are published regularly, like magazines, but most magazine articles provide more basic information, and are written for average people (or maybe fans and hobbyists).
Follow the link or click the image below to view a linked list of CofC's electronic journals with subject headings in Art, Architecture, & Applied Arts.
Cover of Art Journal, Vol. 68, No. 4, WINTER 2009. Image retrieved from JSTOR.
Listed in alphabetical order:
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Provides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources encompassing all fields of the humanities. Includes specialized magazines.
A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Provides access to Oxfords acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. PAO provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship.
MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social science.
Worlds most comprehensive international collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Includes indexing of hundreds of periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Broad subject coverage.
