An online exhibit that invites you to explore the Jewish presence in Charleston over the centuries through images and texts from our archives, plotted on historical maps that document the shifting geographical distribution of Jews and Jewish institutions across the urban landscape.
This online exhibit was made possible by funding from the Cahnman Foundation, the Charleston Jewish Federation, and the Pearlstine/Lipov Center for Southern Jewish Culture.
A Portion of the People: Three Hundred Years of Southern Jewish Life: a landmark exhibition that presents a remarkable group of objects and a provocative investigation of the people and circumstances that produced them.
William A. Rosenthall Collection: in 2007 Special Collections, Addlestone Library, College of Charleston, was pleased to accession the papers of William A. Rosenthall, rabbi, scholar, and collector of Judaica. This site provides collection resources as well as news about uploads of material.
Synagogues of the South: Architecture and Jewish Identity: an online exhibit that explores the lost history of synagogues in the American South through the lens of dozens of postcard images from the William A. Rosenthall Judaica Collection.
Life of the Synagogue: an online exhibit featuring images related to synagogues and other aspects of Jewish life and culture from around the world, selected from the William A. Rosenthall Judaica Collection
A Synagogue a Day: this tumblr shows images from the William A. Rosenthall collection. Click on “Archive” to see the whole run of images posted to date.
Holocaust Memorial Quilt: the quilt is housed at the Charleston County Public Library. To view materials from the College of Charleston’s Holocaust Archives, coupled with narratives of Charleston-area survivors, please check out this interactive site that displays the quilt online.
