CLAS 200 - Fall 2024 - Classics Research - LibGuides at College of Charleston

Background Information & Primary Texts

The Roman Republic: a Very Short Introduction by David M. Gwynn
ISBN: 9780199595112
Publication Date: 2012-10-25
In this Very Short Introduction, David M. Gwynn provides a fascinating introduction to the history of the Roman Republic and its literary and material sources, bringing to life the culture and society of Republican Rome and its ongoing significance within our modern world.
The Roman Empire: A Very Short Introduction by Christopher Kelly
ISBN: 9780192803917
Publication Date: 2006-09-14
This Very Short Introduction covers the history of the Empire, describing how it was formed, how it was run, its religions and its social structure. It examines how local cultures were 'romanised' and how people in far away lands came to believe in the emperor as a God.

Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new window
This digital platform is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culturein short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Advanced Discovery Search
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries. To find encyclopedia and other background sources in the Discovery Service, perform a search and then use the Resource Type filter on the left to narrow your results to Reference Entries.
Configure Google Scholar
By adding CofC Libraries to your Google Scholar settings, you can more easily get to full text for articles we have access to. Note: This may not "stick" unless you enable cookies in your browser settings.

L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Collects annually scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.