Port Cities of the Atlantic World brings together a collection of essays that examine the centuries-long transatlantic transportation of people, goods, and ideas with a focus on the impact of that trade on what would become the American South. Employing a wide temporal range and broad geographic scope, the scholars contributing to this volume call for a sea-facing history of the South, one that connects that terrestrial region to this expansive maritime history. By bringing the study up to the 20th century in the collection's final section, the editors Jacob Steere-Williams and Blake C. Scott make the case for the lasting influence of these port cities-- and Atlantic world history-- on the economy, society, and culture of the contemporary South.
Jacob Steere-Williams is an associate professor of History. Blake C. Scott is an associate professor of International Studies.
The stories in What Did You Do Today? explore the ordinary and the offbeat as if they were one and the same, asking what it's like to be alive and what makes us human. With warmth, humor, and wonder, these stories suggest that the past is always alive in the present and that even the most fleeting relationships have the power to change us forever. In these short narratives, nothing is negligible, and all experience is transformative.
Anthony Varallo is a professor of English and director of the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.
Higher Education As Politics in Post-Rose Revolution Georgia summarizes the evolution of the higher education system in post-Soviet Georgia amidst democratization, economic liberalization, and European integration. The author gives an overview of the recent political history in Georgia, paying particular attention to both the collapse of the Soviet Union as well as the Rose Revolution, and their roles in transforming the education system. The book seeks out national and international perspectives to understand how higher education in Georgia can be further developed to meet the needs of all Georgians, while also further advancing Euro-Atlantic integration. It will be on interest to students and scholars of comparative education, as well as the related fields of international development, political science and history.
Brian Lanahan is a professor of Education.
Sophos Ontology discusses religious plurality and post-traditional perspectives on emergent forms of sacred sensibility, particularly for those identifying as "spiritual but not religious." This book is divided into three parts. The first part is a retrospective account of multiple religious traditions, with emphasis on esoteric thought as influenced by mystical writings, covering western, eastern, and Native American traditions. The second part discusses the need for a new conceptualization of the "sacred" as expressed through multiple spiritual perspectives relevant to a pansentient, post-traditional process ontology. Other topics in this section include the importance of an ethically shaped spirituality, collective influences, dreams, imagination, and the role of pluralism in shaping beliefs. Part three explores the role of faith, redefined as spiritual commitment, mysticism as direct experiential knowledge, and transpersonal theory influenced by comparative studies in altered states of consciousness, paranormal research, and the metaphysics of discovery-- all contributing to the development of present and future spirituality.
Lee Irwin is a Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies.
Teaching Children Dance is organized into two parts, with part one's seven chapters providing the foundation for developing dance learning experiences and offering ideas for planning a yearlong program, a unit, or a single lesson. Part two contains two chapters of creative dance learning experiences and two chapters on choreographed learning experiences. Each learning experience includes learning outcomes; ideas for the introduction and warm-up, development, and culminating dance; variations and adaptations; and assessment suggestions that are directly linked to each outcome.
Susan Flynn is a Senior Instructor of Education.
It is impossible to separate histories of sexual violence and the enslavement of Black women in the antebellum South. Rape permeated the lives of all who existed in that system: Black and white, male and female, adult and child, enslaved and free. Eaves unflinchingly investigates how both enslaved people and their enslavers experienced the systematic rape and sexual exploitation of bondswomen and came to understand what this culture of sexualized violence meant for themselves and others in Sexual Violence and American Slavery.
Shannon Eaves is an associate professor of History.
In Creating an Islamic City: Beirut, Jihad, and the Sacred, Mikati examines for the first time the role and contribution of Beirut to the Umayyad and early Abbasid caliphates. This book traces the transformation of Beirut from a Byzantine metropolis to a place of ribāṭ, weaving previously unpublished archaeological material and narrative sources. By examining Beirut’s transformation into a frontier town, the rise of a scholarly community around the Syrian jurist al-Awzā‘ī (d. 157/773-774), and its integration in an Islamic sacred landscape, Creating an Islamic City shows how a provincial frontier town was integrated and participated in the early caliphate.
Rana Mikati is an associate professor of History.
The Root and the Branch examines the relationship between the early labor movement and the crusade to abolish slavery between the early national period and the Civil War. Tracing the parallel rise of antislavery movements with working-class demands for economic equality, access to the soul, and the rights to the fruits of labor, Griffin shows how labor reformers and radicals contributed to the antislavery project, from the development of free labor ideology to the Republican Party's adoption of working-class land reform in the Homestead Act. By pioneering an antislavery politics based on an appeal to the self-interest of ordinary voters and promoting a radical vision of "free soil" and "free labor" that challenged liberal understandings of property rights and freedom of contract, labor reformers helped to birth a mass politics of antislavery that hastened the conflict with the Slave Power, while pointing the way toward future struggles over the meaning of free labor in the post-Emancipation United States.
Sean Griffin is a visiting assistant professor of History.
These days, many of the world's most beloved places have become expensive and overcrowded, making their celebrated allure that much harder to enjoy. But fear not: Here Not There helps you create a more robust, off-the-beaten-path vacation by revealing 100 alternative destinations to the standard travel playbook-- as well as expert tips on when to visit, where to eat, what to see, and where to stay.
Andrew Nelson is an adjunct professor of Hospitality and Tourism Management.
Funny Dostoevsky demonstrates how and why Dostoevsky is one of the most humorous 19th-century authors, even as he plumbs the depths of the human psyche and the darkest facets of European modernity. The authors go beyond the more traditional categories of humor, such as satire, parody, and the carnivalesque, to apply unique lenses to their readings of Dostoevsky. These include cinematic slapstick and the body in Crime and Punishment, the affective turn and hilarious (and deadly) impatience in Demons, and ontological jokes in Notes from Underground and The Idiot.
Irina Erman is an associate professor of Russian Studies and chair of the German and Russian Studies department.
An Unholy Rebellion, Killing the Gods is the first comprehensive comparison of two of the greatest epics of the Indigenous peoples of Latin America: the Popul Vuh of the Quiché Maya of Guatemala and the Huarochiri Manuscript of Peru’s lower Andean regions. The rebellious tone of both epics illuminates a heretofore overlooked aspect in Latin American Indigenous colonial writing: the sense of political injustice and spiritual sedition directed equally at European-imposed religious practice and at aspects of Indigenous belief. The link between spirituality and political upheaval in Native colonial writing has not been sufficiently explored until this work.
Sharonah Esther Fredrick is an instructor of Spanish and an Honors College lecturer and advisor.
A standard notebook displays page after page of horizontal lines. But what if we break the pattern? What if the ruled pages grew unruly? In this Nonstandard Notebook, lines twist, fragment, curve, and crisscross in beautiful formations. Each sheet is a distinctive work of imagination, asking us to draw, doodle, and journal in the same spirit.
Amy Langville is a professor of Mathematics.
View our collection of College of Charleston faculty and staff publications at this link.
Includes transcripts of global radio and television broadcasts, telegraph, and news sources translated into English and summarized by the BBC Monitoring Service. The collection is divided into several components covering periods in which the content remained largely static. Series 1 includes Daily Digest of Foreign Broadcasts, August 28, 1939-1958; Daily Digest of World Broadcasts, May 24, 1945-May 6, 1947; Digest of World Broadcasting, May 7, 1947-May 27, 1947; Summary of World Broadcasts, May 28, 1947-May 24, 1949, and Summary of World Broadcasts, May 25, 1949-April 15, 1959.
Provides up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Access to Chilton Library is provided by Discus, South Carolina's virtual library.
First-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
Provides access to hundreds of award-winning stage productions from Broadway HD, the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Stratford Festival and more, with coverage as far back as the 1970s. Also includes access to quality written and teaching resources.
An award award-winning digital library from Bloomsbury, the world's leading drama publisher. College of Charleston Libraries provides access to selected collections from Drama Online which currently include the Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen; the National Theatre Collections 1, 2, & 3; the Oberon Books 1 &2; RSC Live; the TCG Books: American Drama, and the Nick Hern Books.
Provides context for the world's major political and economic developments, including recent election results for every country world, the ability to compare national statistics in graph and tabular form, and more.
Sheds light on the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent radical groups in the United States in the 1960s.
From the publisher: “This collection of FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department, shed new light on the motivations of the Communist organizers, the shootings, subsequent investigations, and efforts to heal the Greensboro community” after the November 3, 1979 rally and march of black industrial workers and Communists in Greensboro, North Carolina.
Combines experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as told by the news media, 2010 to today. Updated daily. Articles in English and Spanish.
A database for musical theater repertoire. Find the right song for your next audition, performance, or for study. Search 11,000 (and counting) titles spanning 150 years of shows, custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags. Plus, access to direct links to find sheet music and recordings (when available).
Provides data, content, and resources, including award-winning journalism, presentations, infographics and analysis to stay on top of key moments in politics and policy. Access includes the Research, RaceTracker, Almanac, Daybook, and Events modules. Access to these modules is available through the buttons at the top of page.
For off-campus access, sign in using your MyPortal username and password.
Curated by the National Archives and Records Administration largely from the official Bureau of Indian Affairs which provides detailed records of tribal relations with settlers, the Territorial and Federal governments, and other tribes. Series 1 includes the Michigan Superintendency, Northern Superintendency, Southern Superintendency, Arkansas Superintendency, Central Superintendency, Florida Superintendency, Iowa Superintendency, and St. Louis Superintendency.
Developed with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together award-winning content into one destination that can be used for research, teaching, and learning. Combining primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies, this easy-to-use interface will enable students to find the resources they need by topic pages, timelines, source types and more.
From the publisher: “James E. Jackson and Esther Cooper Jackson, African American communists and civil rights activists, are best known for their role in founding and leading the Southern Negro Youth Congress (1937-48). This collection contains the correspondence of both Esther Cooper and James E. Jackson, James Jackson's lectures, research notebooks, speeches, and writings (published and unpublished), subject files, correspondence, internal documents and printed ephemera pertaining to the Southern Negro Youth Congress and the periodical Freedomways, legal and other materials pertaining to the Smith Act indictments of James Jackson and other communists, Communist Party internal documents, many of a programmatic nature, and clippings (articles by and about the Jacksons).”
From the publisher: “Provides an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an extensive inventory of historical data at a local level. Each profile, composed as a narrative with statistical indices, contains information showing general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources.”
