LibGuides: Collection Development: Introduction

Collection Development Resources

The following links will assist you in building library collections in your subject area.

New Library Resource Order Request Form
Use this form to request library materials for purchase. This includes eBooks, streaming media, print books, and DVDs.
New Databases & Journals Request Form
Request a journal or database.
Reserves Request Form
Use this form if you are ready to request existing physical or electronic library materials for reserve or need to roll over current items to a new semester. We strongly recommend filling out this form if you are using any electronic library materials in your courses so that we can assess licensing needs.
Fund Balances
Firm order fund balances for the 2024-2025 academic year.
Electronic Resource Trial Evaluation Form
Let us know what you think about an electronic resource we are trialing.

Trials

Trial Databases
Trial databases are listed to the right of our Databases A-Z list. Feel free to try them out and provide us with feedback through the trial database evaluation form.

Explore new books, eBooks, databases, and recent CofC faculty publications available from the library.

Collection Highlights

Welcome to the guide for

everything Collection Development

at the College of Charleston Libraries.

We are part of the Collection & Content Services department, and we are here for you as you seek to purchase materials such as books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, ejournals, and any other resources that will help support your teaching and research.

Collection Development Staff

Heather Gilbert
Associate Dean of Collection & Content Services
Angela Flenner
Acquisitions & Resource Management Coordinator
Allison Jones
Electronic Resources & Serials Librarian
Kayla Kipps
Collection Development Librarian

If you're looking for your library subject liaison, click on this link and use the dropdown menu to select your discipline. Click your liaison's photo for contact information.

What Does it All Mean?

Firm orders - These are orders for specific titles that are paid for out of each department's individual budget. Titles are selected by departmental faculty and submitted to library liaisons, who then approve the purchase and submit to the Acquisitions & Resource Management Services department who place the orders with the vendor. Visit the Firm Orders tab for more detailed information.
Journals & Databases - Members of the CofC community can request databases and journals to be included in our collection. Database and journal requests are reviewed by a committee once a year and are evaluated for quality and appropriateness for our collection. Visit the New Subscriptions tab for more detailed information.