Primary source materials from archival collections for research and teaching. The College of Charleston Libraries provides access to the Colonial America collection on the Adam Matthew platform. This collection from the National Archives (UK), makes available correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies from 1606 to 1822.
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Includes Bills and Acts, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Journals, Debates, and Histories and Proceedings from the 18th through the 21st century.
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
Archival collections documenting the most important and widely studied topics in eighteenth through twentieth century American history.
Includes the most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th, and early 19th centuries, with more than 1,500 publications of unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native American and European settlers.
Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Societyone of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositoriesthis collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, politics and daily life. Featuring more than 140 eighteenth and nineteenth century titles, this unique resource is essential for researching Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and many other aspects of the cultures and societies of the West Indies.
Bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive and scholarly guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This citation-only index may include links to full text when available through other CofC collections.
To find primary sources in the the CofC Libraries Catalog ADVANCED DISCOVERY SERVICE, it can be helpful to search the following types of sources using the "subject" filter to identify relevant sources. Refine your search results by availability, date, location, subject, and more using the facets to the side.
Examples of keyword searches might look like:
