LibGuides: Integrated Studies: Find Background Info

Why background research helps

Getting background information and general facts about your topic is a good way to start your research. This not only helps you better understand your topic, but it also helps you formulate the boundaries of your research and key terms for your thesis statement. It can be a helpful guide to begin to narrow down your topic into a coherent and specific area.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is a library database containing digital versions of encyclopedias and other reference works. Think of it as an academic Wikipedia, only curated by librarians instead of the general public.

Other Resources for Background Info

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Database provides thousands of encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized, continuously updated entries from Oxfords dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas including archaeology, classical studies, linguistics, philosophy, and more.

Connecting Google Scholar with Library Resources

Update your Google Scholar settings to link to the College of Charleston Libraries collection.

Go to Google Scholar, and click the three horizontal bars in the corner to view the menu.
Click the cog icon to see Settings.
Click Library links, and search for College of Charleston.
Check the box next to "College of Charleston Libraries.”
Click Save.

A View it @ CofC link will now appear next to select articles in your search results. Click on them to see if we have the articles in our collection. Note: Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The View it link won't work for these or for journal articles that are only available in print (not online).