LibGuides: MUSC 234 Music in Latin America -- O'Brien: Library Resources

Online Journals and Websites

Ethnomusicology
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of most articles. The most recent 4 years are not available online but CofC Libraries has them in print.
Latin American Music Review | Revista de música latinoamericana
One of the top peer-reviewed journals in the field. CofC provides access to the full text of articles from 1980 - present.

The following peer-reviewed journals are available freely online (open access). Most articles are in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, with a few articles in French or Catalan.

General Interest (not scholarly):

Remezcla
Good blog for current articles on Latinx music and pop culture.
Configure Google Scholar
By adding CofC Libraries to your Google Scholar settings, you can more easily get to full text for articles we have access to. Note: This may not "stick" unless you enable cookies in your browser settings.

Streaming Music Collections

Intro to World Music playlists from Alexander Street
Playlists for regions around the world, designed to introduce students to a variety of musical styles, instruments and performance contexts.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Large, comprehensive streaming audio collection of Smithsonian and world music archives, including many from South and Central America and the Caribbean.

Streaming Video Collections

Look in these collections for documentaries or feature films related to your topic.

World music films and videos from Academic Video Online
Includes music-related documentaries and musical performances from many genres around the world.

Films On Demand
Features primarily educational films and documentaries, including many on topics related to music, dance, and culture around the world.
Kanopy
Vast collection of films in all genres and topics.

Beginning Your Research with Reference Sources

Some of the background resources below are available online, some in print, and some are available in both formats. Click on a specific title to see the contents of just that book. Your search results will include the title of the encyclopedia or reference book the article came from.

Credo Reference and Oxford Music Online are library databases containing encyclopedia articles and other brief refererence entries.

Credo Reference

Librarian-curated collection of award-winning reference works with extensive subject coverage.
Oxford Music Online
Leading online scholarly resource for music research, offering the full texts of major music dictionaries. Includes Grove Music Online. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by George Torres (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313087943

Publication Date: 2013-03-27

This comprehensive survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular--as opposed to folk or art--music. Available online.
Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes by Ilan Stavans (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313343964

Publication Date: 2014-07-29

Definitive two-volume encyclopedia of Latin music, spanning 5 centuries and 25 countries and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes. Available online.
Pop Culture Latin America! by Lisa Shaw; Stephanie Dennison
Call Number: F1414.2 .S495 2005

ISBN: 1851095098

Publication Date: 2005-01-14

A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion. Available in print.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Vol. 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean by Dale A. Olsen (Editor); Daniel E. Sheehy (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998 V.2

ISBN: 9780824049478

Publication Date: 1998-10-01
Latin American Music Reader by Javier F. Leon (Editor); Helena Simonett (Editor)
Call Number: ML3549 .L38 2016 OR ebook online

ISBN: 9780252040214

Publication Date: 2016-07-31

A collection of essential writings from the last twenty-five years of Latin American music studies. Chosen as representative, outstanding, and influential in the field, each article appears in English translation.
Latin American Classical Composers by Miguel Ficher
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781461669111

Publication Date: 2002-01-01

Hundreds of composers are represented in this volume, which presents biographical data, including dates of birth and death, personal information about composers' background and training, and a selective listing of each composer's works. Sources for further study are noted within each entry. An index of composers by country rounds out this work.

Citing Sources in Chicago Style

Here is the general formula for citing a recorded song in Chicago Style (from the University of Minnesota Libraries' Music Citation Guide):

Performer/Conductor Last Name, First Name or Group Name as Normal. “Track Title,” by Composer First Name Last Name. On Recording Title. Additional Performer/Group/Conductor Name(s) if Applicable. Recorded Month Day, Year if Applicable. Record Label Name #, Release Year, Recording Format.

Example:

Wetherill, Linda, flute. “Voice for Solo Flutist,” by Tōru Takemitsu. On Sound & Repercussion: New Music for Solo Flute. Furious Artisans FACD6804, 2000, compact disc.

The Chicago Manual of Style provides the following additional example citations for recordings. Note that these are albums, not individual tracks.

Eilish, Billie. When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? Produced by Finneas O’Connell. Darkroom / Interscope Records (US); Polydor Records (UK). Released March 29, 2019.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni. Orchestra and Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Sir Colin Davis. With Ingvar Wixell, Luigi Roni, Martina Arroyo, et al. Recorded May 1973. Philips 422 541-2, 1991, 3 compact discs.

Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc. Originally released in 1970.

Rubinstein, Artur, pianist. The Chopin Collection. Recorded 1946, 1958–67. RCA Victor / BMG 60822-2-RG, 1991, 11 compact discs.

Weingartner, Felix von, conductor. 150 Jahre Wiener Philharmoniker. Recorded in 1936. Preiser Records PR90113 (mono), 1992, compact disc. Includes Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major and Symphony No. 8 in F Major.