The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the Avery Research Center, including archival collections, artifacts, microfilm, videos, books, e-books, newspapers, research guides, and much more
ArchivesSpace is a search interface that facilitates discovery of archival and artifact collections from the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and the Special Collections departments at CofC Libraries. Use the box below to search. You can also browse and search the full database of finding aids and descriptions at http://findingaids.library.cofc.edu/.
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
From the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822-1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
A collection of FBI reports which includes the investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Consists of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed materials, including several hundred case files and publications produced and received by the Civil Rights Congress, which was established in 1946.
Includes essential materials for the study of early development of the Civil Rights Movement and provides insight into FDR's political style and presents an instructive example of how he balanced moral preferences with political realities.
From the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822-1909 by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith's battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. Includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records.
Includes transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing,for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States.
Details the Freedom Rides, which began the May 5, 1961, to challenge the status quo by riding various forms of public transportation in the South to challenge local laws or customs that enforced segregation.
