Search for books, articles, and more.
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
The following are resources acquired and purchased by the College of Charleston School of Business.
Please read the descriptions carefully for access instructions.
The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for exploring the holdings of Special Collections and the SC Historical Society, including archival collections, books, historic pamphlets, digital collections, visual materials, serials, microfilm, and more.
ArchivesSpace is a search interface that facilitates discovery of archival and artifact collections from the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and the Special Collections departments at CofC Libraries. Use the box below to search. You can also browse and search the full database of finding aids and descriptions at http://findingaids.library.cofc.edu/.
The following Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Handbooks (and older editions of them) are available online. The links below will open the library catalog records for each title, which include bibliographic information needed for citation. To view the full text, click the link under View Online.
Pandemic Series (published 2020):
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by McDonald’s. (2019). 2018 annual report. https://www.annualreports.com/HostedData/AnnualReportArchive/m/NYSE_MCD_2018.pdf
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Bloomberg. (2019). Company analysis for Bank of Canada. https://www.bloomberg.com
Bloomberg. (2017). Environmental, social, and governance analysis for Bank of Canada 11/10/12 to 11/10/17. https://www.bloomberg.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Park, K., Philip, S., Davies, W., Man, Y., & Amin, H. (2020, April 20). The virus clips AirAsia’s wings. Bloomberg Businessweek, 16–17.
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Canada
Find the permalink to cite the Census table directly whenever possible, rather than the various visualization tools such as CHASS which do not have permalinks.
Statistics Canada. (2017). Census profile, 2016 Census: Montréal (Census metropolitan area), Quebec and Quebec (Province) (Table 98-316-X2016001) [Data set]. https://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2016/dp-pd/prof/details/page.cfm?Lang=E&Geo1=CMACA&Code1=462&Geo2=PR&Code2=24&SearchText=Montreal
Statistics Canada. (n.d.). Income - total sex: Total - income statistics in 2015 for the population aged 15 years and over in private households [Data set]. CHASS. http://datacentre.chass.utoronto.ca
United States
Find the permalink to cite the Census table directly whenever possible, rather than the various visualization tools such as Census Business Builder which do not usually have permalinks.
U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). Census business builder: Small business edition - 3.0.1 [Map showing restaurants in the Dane County, WI area and surrounding counties]. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved June 18, 2020, from https://cbb.census.gov/sbe
U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). QuickFacts: Madison city, Wisconsin. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved June 18, 2020, from https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/madisoncitywisconsin/LND110210
U.S. Census Bureau. (2017). Construction: Summary statistics for the US, states, and selected geographies (Table EC1723BASIC) [Data set]. U.S. Department of Commerce. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/table?tid=ECNBASIC2017.EC1723BASIC
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Energy Information Administration. (2020, May 17). Retail gasoline prices: Gasoline prices - all grades, 08/20/1990 - 05/11/2020 [Data set]. Department of Energy; Data Planet. https://doi.org/10.6068/DP1722EF40B2064
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Since the names/titles of DemographicsNow's Demographic Reports are not always very detailed, include a bracketed, consistently worded description of the variables you used so that the person reading your citations may retrieve the same data or, at least, understand what you did to generate the compiled data set you are citing.
Gale. (n.d.). Complete demographic comparison report [Current year estimates and five-year projections for Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester Counties] [Data set]. DemographicsNow. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://dnow.gale.com/dnow
Gale. (n.d.). Consumer expenditure restaurant detail comparison [Current year estimates and five-year projections of households in ZIP codes 29401 and 29403 and the Charleston-North Charleston, SC Metro CBSA] [Data set]. DemographicsNow. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://dnow.gale.com/dnow
Gale. (n.d.). Simmons travel comparison [Current year estimates of household expenditures in Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI; Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX; and Pittsburgh, PA Metro CBSAs] [Data set]. DemographicsNow. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://dnow.gale.com/dnow
Gale. (n.d.). Sizing your market: Average alcoholic beverages purchased on trips [Five-year projections of household expenditures in Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI; Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX; and Pittsburgh, PA Metro CBSAs] [Data set]. DemographicsNow. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://dnow.gale.com/dnow
While it is also advisable when working with demographic and consumer marketing data sets to list the agency that originally collected them, DemographicsNow has a somewhat complicated methodology involving Experian’s Census Area Projections & Estimates (CAPE) databases, so it should suffice to exclude these specifics.
Wallin, L., & Silva, C. (2019, December 17). Top 10 technologies that are defining the future of mobility, 2019 update. Gartner. https://www.gartner.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
If the report has a unique identifier number, use it in parentheses after the title. In this case, include a more specific description in the brackets than just [Industry report] as is often used elsewhere, because IBIS has risk and other reports as well as global, state, and other levels of industry reports, and sometimes the titles and numbers are the same.
Diment, D. (2019, December). Corporate wellness services (OD4621) [U.S. specialized industry report]. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
MarketLine. (2019). Renewable energy in Mexico [Industry profile]. https://www.marketline.com
MarketLine. (2019). Immunology influencer network: Influencer analytics 2/27/2020 - 5/27/2020. https://www.marketline.com
Example when retrieved from Business Source Complete:
MarketLine. (2020). Air freight in Australia [Industry profile]. Business Source Complete. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/business-source-complete
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Company dossier
LexisNexis. (n.d.). Ford Motor Company [Company profile]. Retrieved May 28, 2020, from https://www.lexisnexis.com
Executive biographies
The Who's Who of Company Directors. (2017, April 6). H. Jay Sarles. NexisUni. https://www.lexisnexis.com
Company information
Zoom Company Information. (2020, May). Ernst & Young Global Limited. NexisUni. https://www.lexisnexis.com
Company lists or directories
Since there is no official title, create a description in square brackets, non-italicized, to explain how you generated this collected and compiled data. See section 9.22 in the Manual. The square brackets in this case indicate that somebody else searching the resource cannot use these exact words to search for it; but they could figure out what you did.
LexisNexis. (n.d.) [List of automobile companies in Germany, over $200M in sales]. Retrieved June 22, 2020, from https://www.lexisnexis.com
SWOT analysis
MarketLine. (2020, January 13). Ford Motor Company [SWOT analysis]. NexisUni. https://www.lexisnexis.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Company profiles
PrivCo. (n.d.). PopSockets [Company profile]. Retrieved May 26, 2020, from https://www.privco.com
Company lists or directories
Since there is no official title, create a description in square brackets, non-italicized, to explain how you generated this collected and compiled data. See section 9.22 in the Manual. The square brackets in this case indicate that somebody else searching the resource cannot use these exact words to search for it; but they could figure out what you did.
PrivCo. (n.d.). [List of VC-backed companies in the Boulder, CO, area with up to $500M in revenue]. Retrieved June 29, 2020, from https://www.privco.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Company profiles
Look in the Business Demographics section for the Last Updated date.
If the title of the company profile is sufficiently unique to identify the company profile (i.e. there is only one of that company in that city & state), then the company name with the city is the title:
Data Axle. (2020, September). Jackson Hewitt Tax Svc-Walmart, Kenai, AK [Company profile]. Reference Solutions. Retrieved January 26, 2021, from https://www.referenceusa.com
If there are multiple locations of that business in that city/state, include the exact address in parentheses as a form of unique number identifier:
Data Axle. (2020, September). Jackson Hewitt Tax Svc-Walmart (3101 A. St, Anchorage, AK) [Company profile]. Reference Solutions. Retrieved January 26, 2021, from https://www.referenceusa.com
Company lists or directories and all other data sets and visualizations
Since there is no official title, create a description in square brackets, non-italicized, to explain how you generated this collected and compiled data. See section 9.22 in the Manual. The square brackets in this case indicate that somebody else searching the resource cannot use these exact words to search for it; but they could figure out what you did.
Data Axle. (n.d.). [List of companies in Walworth County, Wisconsin with 5 or more employees]. Reference Solutions. Retrieved January 26, 2021, from https://www.referenceusa.com
Data Axle. (n.d.). [List of consumers interested in fishing and gourmet food & wine in Cleveland, OH]. Reference Solutions. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://www.referenceusa.com
Data Axle. (n.d.). [Map of consumers interested in fishing and gourmet food & wine in Cleveland, OH]. Reference Solutions. Retrieved December 30, 2020, from https://www.referenceusa.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Batter, A. (2016, November/December). The impact of a double trigger on the section 162(m) deduction. Journal of Corporate Taxation, 34-38.
Thomson Reuters. (2020). 2020 RIA federal tax handbook. http://checkpoint.riag.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
You may need to use a search engine to find the URL for a particular report.
Risk Management Association. (2019, November 11). Financial ratio benchmarks 2019-2020 for NAICS 11110: Soybean farming. https://www.rmahq.org/ProductDetail.aspx?productid=684685779
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Statistics, dossiers, and reports
Look under the Source section for “Survey by” -- that is the author.
Daniel Research Group. (2019, September). Unit shipments of mobile personal computers (PCs) and laptops in the United States, from 2013 to 2023 (in millions) [Chart]. Statista. https://www.statista.com
Anything without a named author:
Statista. (2020, May). Laptops & tablets [Consumer market outlook]. https://www.statista.com
Infographics
Armstrong, M. (2020, June 4). UK government approval on the slide [Infographic]. Statista. https://www.statista.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Look at the bottom of the company’s stock page for the dates of the PDF reports -- usually approximately quarterly. Those are the archived reports and should be the preferred date.
Value Line. (2020, May 22). Delta Air Lines. Value Line Investment Survey. https://jump.valueline.com
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Use a direct/permalink URL whenever available.
Bureau of Economic Analysis. (2020, May 28). Price indexes for personal consumption expenditures by major type of product and by major function (Table 2.3.4U) [Data set]. United States Department of Commerce. https://apps.bea.gov/iTable/iTable.cfm?reqid=19&step=3&isuri=1&nipa_table_list=2013
Eurostat. (2020). Area under organic farming [Data set]. https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/web/products-datasets/-/sdg_02_40
International Financial Statistics. (2020). Government finance: Japan 2013-2020 [Data set]. International Monetary Fund. https://www.imf.org
World Health Organization. (2020, June 2). Coronavirus disease (COVID-19): Situation report - 134. https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200602-covid-19-sitrep-134.pdf
Credit: Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
843.953.8000
843.353.1259
Industry codes, such as those assigned by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), allow researchers and professionals alike to classify and measure industry activity.
Knowing the code for an industry will help you find reports, articles, and other information on it. Many business and finance databases will allow users to enter industry codes as keywords. However, even though they are standardized, resources may assign codes inconsistently. Additionally, companies often have multiple codes due to their various business segments. Be flexible but critical when using codes to search, and always check multiple sources.
Note: Usually, there is not a perfect or obvious industry code.
Some content on industry or trade association websites and professional directories may require membership, but many of these organizations provide free data and information as well as open access to digital versions of their publications and blogs. Google Advanced Search can reveal all kinds of useful data and information. Try entering a couple of keywords describing your business or industry plus professional organization OR industry association OR trade association.
While extremely helpful and usually robust, subscription databases are not the only place you can find company information. Company websites, as well as social media, should never be ignored. Google Advanced Search can reveal all kinds of useful data and information. Try entering the company name plus the filetype filter to search for PDFs, DOCs, XLSs, PPTs, and more. The site filter is also great for searching company websites that do not have a prominent search feature.
