Covers the early history of African American poetry from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century including plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, and other genres.
Collection contains the full text of thousands of poems, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the 18th century to the early 20th century.
Offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories of that period.
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century.
Major collection of poetry from hundreds of 20th century American poets.
This link opens in a new windowContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Early English Books Online is provided by the funding and support of the College of Charleston Friends of the Library.
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
The most comprehensive archive of English verse available. Offers representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only recently been brought back to scholarly attention.
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
A collection of British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903.
Major collection of hundreds of English poets from 1900 to the present day.
Database of full text works by British women writers of the 19th century.
