If you find yourself confused as to what kind of article your professor wants you to gather for that paper, use this handy chart to determine if you are looking at an academic or popular article.
Text version of the Academic Journals vs Popular Magazines chart
Update your Google Scholar settings to link to the College of Charleston Libraries collection.
A View it @ CofC link will now appear next to select articles in your search results. Click on them to see if we have the articles in our collection. Note: Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles. The View it link won't work for these or for journal articles that are only available in print (not online).
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
Comprehensive resource for serious academic research. Includes thousands of peer-reviewed and full-text journal in a wide variety of subjects.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Content covers all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive index of scholarly journals and series in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1926 to the present.
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries and its contributing members this groundbreaking online collection provides more than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full text content from many historical newspapers.
Coverage begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln.
Database includes full-text newspapers and articles, as well as television and radio news transcripts. Provides daily news updates from popular sources.
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Coverage for the Post and Courier: 1873 to present from NewsBank's Access World News.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2020
