The Discovery Service provides a single, unified search box for searching the holdings of the College of Charleston Libraries, including academic/scholarly journal articles, print books, e-books, newspapers, magazines, internet documents, research reports, research guides, and much more!
ArchivesSpace is a search interface that facilitates discovery of archival and artifact collections from the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture and the Special Collections departments at CofC Libraries. Use the box below to search. You can also browse and search the full database of finding aids and descriptions at http://findingaids.library.cofc.edu/.
Search for and evaluate books, articles, and media to help with your assignments.
An index to over 1,700 journals covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also provides provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
Includes thousands of full-text journals and magazines, thousands of peer-reviewed journals, access to over 1,400 journals without an embargo, over 2,000 journals indexed in Web of Science and Scopus, and more.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
Covers the early history of African American poetry from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
Includes more than 490 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries.
Comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress.
The political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century
Offers in-depth coverage of the critical issues involved in America's ongoing conversation on race and provides authoritative coverage of many historic changes including Barack Obama's election and the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
Provides largely untapped source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history as well as a window into the development of America's first systematic domestic surveillance apparatus.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The NAACPs Major Campaigns Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
The NAACPs Major CampaignsScottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Provides documentation collected by the FBI through intelligence activities, informants, surveillance, and cooperation with local police departments which chronicles the activities of Republic of New Afrika national and local leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other Black militant organizations.
A unique collection that provides an unprecedented and irreplaceable record of African American lives, history, and culture. Includes over 12,000 hours of video oral history interviews covering a variety of topics and fields including the arts, business, civic engagement, education, entertainment, law, medicine, and many more.
Comprises the files of John P. Davis, Edward Strong, and Revels Cayton.
Developed with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together award-winning content into one destination that can be used for research, teaching, and learning. Combining primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies, this easy-to-use interface will enable students to find the resources they need by topic pages, timelines, source types and more.
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851-2020
Provides access to Newspaper.com Library Edition World Collection which contains thousands of historical newspapers from well-known regional and smaller local papers published in the United States, England, Canada, and other countries, with coverage ranging from the late 1600s to the 2000s.
Developed with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together award-winning content into one destination that can be used for research, teaching, and learning. Combining primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies, this easy-to-use interface will enable students to find the resources they need by topic pages, timelines, source types and more.
