LibGuides: CLAW: Carolina Lowcountry & Atlantic World: Find South Carolina Articles

Lowcountry Digital Library

"Man in a Cucumber Field" from the Agricultural Society of South Carolina Visual Materials Collection in the Lowcountry Digital Library.

Recommended E-Journals

American Historical Review
This journal presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.
Eighteenth-Century Studies
Eighteenth-Century Studies is committed to publishing the best of current writing on all aspects of eighteenth-century culture. The journal publishes different modes of analysis and disciplinary discourses that explore how recent historiographical, critical, and theoretical ideas have engaged scholars concerned with the eighteenth century. Eighteenth-Century Studies is the official publication of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS).
Ethnohistory
Articles, review articles and book reviews in all areas of ethnohistory. The official journal of the American Society for Ethnohistory.
History & Memory
Focuses on questions relating to the formation of historical consciousness & collective memory, the role of historical memory in modern & premodern cultures, and the relationship between historical research and images of the past in different societies.
History Today
Presents essays and research articles dealing with a wide range of topics pertaining to ancient and modern world history.
International History Review
This journal, spanning 1979-2011, is the only English-language quarterly devoted entirely to the history of international relations. An international journal on international history, the Review publishes articles, notes with documents, bibliographies, and reviews, on everything that affected, or was affected by, the relations between all states, throughout the world, throughout history.
International Journal for History, Culture, and Modernity
The International Journal for History, Culture and Modernity (HCM) is a peer-reviewed journal that offers a global perspective on modern culture and its history since 1750. How can history help to understand what it means to live in a modern world? From this vantage point HCM aims to take part in the international exchange on the cultural significance of modernity.
International Review of Social History
This journal is one of the leading journals in its field. Truly global in its scope, it focuses on research in social and labour history from a comparative and transnational perspective, both in the modern and in the early modern period, and across periods. The journal combines quality, depth and originality of its articles with an open eye for theoretical innovation and new insights and methods from within its field and from contiguous disciplines. Besides research articles, it features surveys of new themes and subject fields, a suggestions and debates section, review essays and book reviews.
Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History
This journal is an important resource to scholars of all aspects of colonialism, from pre-colonial societal studies to current post-colonial theory. It covers the broad range of issues that relate to imperialism and colonialism from the tenth century through modern times including the social effects on the population, the political structures under imperial rule, the transition to independence, and the lasting impact of living under colonial rule.
Journal of Global History
Journal of Global History addresses the main problems of global change over time, together with the diverse histories of globalization. It also examines counter-currents to globalization, including those that have structured other spatial units. The journal seeks to transcend the dichotomy between 'the West and the rest', straddle traditional regional boundaries, relate material to cultural and political history, and overcome thematic fragmentation in historiography. The journal also acts as a forum for interdisciplinary conversations across a wide variety of social and natural sciences.
Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History
This journal presents & discusses recent research in the history of the British Empire & Commonwealth & in comparative European colonial experiences.
Past & Present
Founded in 1952, Past & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world.
Political Geography
Political Geography is the flagship journal of political geography and advances knowledge in all aspects of the geographical and spatial dimensions of politics and the political. The journal brings together leading contributions in the field and promotes interdisciplinary debates in international relations, political science, and other related fields.
South Atlantic Quarterly
Published exclusively in guest-edited special issues, this award-winning centenarian journal features some of the most prominent contemporary writers and scholars tackling urgent political, cultural, and social questions. Some issues grow out of current academic debates, concerning, for example, the growing power of finance, narratives of black leadership, and the politics of austerity.
Southern Quarterly: A Journal of the Arts in the South
Published by The University of Southern Mississippi since 1962, the Southern Quarterly is an internationally-known scholarly journal devoted to the interdisciplinary study of Southern arts and culture.
World History Connected
World History Connected is designed for everyone who wants to deepen the engagement and understanding of world history: students, college instructors, high school teachers, leaders of teacher education programs, social studies coordinators, research historians, and librarians.

Recommended Databases

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present. This citation-only index provides links to full text via other CofC resources when available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

Database Search Strategies

Step 1: Write your topic out in a sentence or question form.
- Example: "How did transatlantic trade networks affect the development of politics and culture in the United States?"
Step 2: Break your topic sentence up into main ideas or keywords.
- Example: transatlantic, trade networks, politics, culture, United States
Step 3: Create alternate search terms or synonyms that describe each key concept.
- Example: culture - civilization, society, convention, lifestyle
Step 4: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to make a complete search statement.
- AND limits or narrows your search to results that mention all your keywords
- OR broadens your search to include synonyms
- NOT allows you to exclude synonyms or related concepts from your search
Step 5: Add wildcards to search for all possible word endings.
- A wildcard is usually represented by an asterisk (*). This process is also called truncation.
- A wildcard search for cultur* will produce results for all related word forms, such as cultural, culture, cultures.
Step 6: Evaluate your results
- If you are finding too few results, try these tricks to broaden your search --
  - Find a synonym for each keyword
  - Use a broader concept (ship instead of frigate)
  - Use wildcards/truncation
- If you are finding too many results, try these tricks to narrow your search --
  - Add another concept or idea to your search with Boolean operator AND
  - Use more specific concepts (frigate instead of ship)
- Look for subject categories assigned to an article in the article's record. You may discover new terms that can be used as synonyms or alternative search criteria.

Find Librarians

Make an appointment with a librarian
CofC students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to meet with our librarians and archivists regarding their research and instruction needs. Appointments are available in person and via video conference to accommodate your schedule. Select a day and time to find the next available librarian or find the librarian assigned to your subject. We look forward to working with you!
Subject Liaison
Find the librarian that specializes in your subject area by choosing your subject from the drop-down menu and pressing "Go"

CLAW: Carolina Lowcountry & Atlantic World: Find South Carolina Articles

About this page

Lowcountry Digital Library

Recommended E-Journals

Recommended Databases

Database Search Strategies

Find Librarians