Find articles related to slavery by searching in these recommended e-journals and databases. Below you will find
Encompasses diverse primary sources including 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, American county histories, and more.
An American Mosaic Online Resource. Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is both a broad and deep online database collection on African American history and culture. Providing thesis-driven, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, as well as primary source documents and classroom resources, it is a collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources essential to understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.
This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonization, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Societyone of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositoriesthis collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, politics and daily life. Featuring more than 140 eighteenth and nineteenth century titles, this unique resource is essential for researching Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and many other aspects of the cultures and societies of the West Indies.
Offers archival journal collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as robust image collections from libraries, museums, and archives including Artstor.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of primary source 19th century U.S. newspapers.
This database is an archive of millions of pages of content thematically arranged to provide an understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective, divided into four parts: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
Brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
Provides access to thousands of historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, as well as reference titles and full-text journals. Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from ancient times to the present.
