CLAW: Carolina Lowcountry & Atlantic World: Slavery

The Abolition of the Slave Trade presents more than 8,000 pages of original essays, primary documents—books, pamphlets, articles, and illustrations—as well as secondary sources and original maps. The site is organized around eight themes that tell the forgotten story of the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade to the United States and, more generally, to the Western Hemisphere. Each theme is presented through an essay, images, and texts.

"African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history.

Description of early history of slavery at Jamestown, timeline of pertinent events, and bibliography of further reading.

The companion site to the series, offering hundreds of primary source documents, scholarly essays, and stories from the series. The Terrible Transformation (Part I) includes numerours articles tracing the origins of American slavery fromthe European incursion into Africa to mid-18th century America, maps, timelines, illustrations.

A collection of documents from all over Louisiana, as well as archives in France, Spain and Texas, this database contains information about African slave names, genders, ages, occupations, illnesses, family relationships, ethnicity, places of origin, prices paid by slave owners, and slaves' testimony and emancipations

An array of historical collections and primary sources and archival history related to American culture and history.

The project builds on the work of American historians who have emphasized the contextual importance of Atlantic History in their studies of antebellum slavery (e.g., Bernard Bailyn, James Campbell, Matthew Clavin, David Brion Davis, Floyd Miller, Edward Rugemer, etc.) and on the broader movement among world historians to look at multi-continent geographic regions as units of historical analysis (e.g., Janet Abu-Lughod, Jerry Bentley, etc.).

Dr. Marcus Rediker's lecture "The Amistad Rebellion" was recorded in July of 2012 at the Frank C. Munson Institute of American Maritime Studies at Mystic Seaport

Several hundred images relating to the slave trade, including maps, housed at the University of Virginia.

In 1807 The Abolition of Slave Trade Act came into force. The act made the trade in slaves from Africa to the British colonies illegal. To combat illicit transportation following this act many of the British Colonies began keeping registers of black slaves who had been so-called “lawfully enslaved”. In 1819 the Office for the Registry of Colonial Slaves was established in London and copies of the slave registers kept by the colonies were sent to this office. Registration generally occurred once every three years. The registers continue through to 1834 when slavery was officially abolished.

The Bibliography of Slavery is a searchable database containing verified references (except as noted) to approximately 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.

John Horse and the Black Seminoles: First Black Rebels to Beat American Slavery. These maroon warriors, descendants of free blacks and fugitive slaves in the American South, led the largest slave revolt in American history, influenced Abraham Lincoln and the emancipation movement, and were the most successful black freedom fighters in the U.S. prior to the Civil War.

Brown University's research and education committee investigating the university's ties to slave trading and other topics.

This website features the city’s links with the Transatlantic Slave Trade by tracing the history, the Trade Triangle, as well as the people and companies involved in the trade.

This initiative is an effort to involve direct descendants of slavery, black and white, in exploring their unique role in addressing the legacy of slavery, on a personal and societal level.

This database offers data on race and slavery extracted from eighteenth and nineteenth-century documents and processed over a period of eighteen years. The Digital Library contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, including slaves, free people of color, and whites.

Dred Scott, a fifty year-old slave, and his wife Harriet filed suit for their freedom in the St. Louis Circuit Court. The disposition of this case, and its infamous ruling, contributed to the tensions leading to the Civil War.

The Real Histories Directory is a resource tool for teachers, parents, pupils and the wider community to support them in teaching and learning about cultural diversity in the UK.

Unadorned and easy to navigate, this comprehensive website based at the University of Houston contains 46 first-person accounts of slavery and African life dating from 1682 to 1937.

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, a part of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale, is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of knowledge concerning all aspects of chattel slavery and its destruction.

Videos, speeches and articles on the history of the abolitionist movement. Does contain commercials.

The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

This is a database containing the identity of all slave-owners in the British Caribbean at the time slavery ended. The records concern slave-owners, not the enslaved themselves.

This permanent exhibit at the Museum of London Docklands examines London's involvement in the transatlantic slave trade. The site includes an online interactive map of people and places keyed to various themes: black presence, enslavement, and resistance.

This former gallery was originated and generously supported by the Peter Moores Foundation. It examined transatlantic slavery and sought to increase understanding of what has happened to people of African descent in the modern world.

This is a virtual museum dedicated to the history of slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic.

Primary source documents about the slave trade for educator resources from the National Archives.

The National Association of African American Studies and Affiliates (NAAAS) was founded in 1992 on the campus of Virginia State University in Petersburg, Virginia to serve as a resource for scholars in the field who desire information and support for research related to the African and African American, Hispanic, Latino(a) and Chicano(a), Native American and Asian experiences

Since 1988 the National Center for History in the Schools (NCHS) has nurtured ties between the historical profession and classroom teachers in an effort to improve and enliven the teaching of history at all levels. Through publications, professional development, and community engagement, NCHS links UCLA to teachers and students in Los Angeles and across the United States.

Provides leadership for the protection and interpretation of the nation's heritage, guides a national historic preservation program that embraces national parks and heritage resources, engages all American peoples with the places and stories that make up their national identity, and serves as a model for the stewardship of cultural resources throughout the world.

Slave narratives from the beginning of American slavery until the 1920's. Published by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

An independent collection of web archived images by the Bristol Radical History Group, formed in 2006.

Documents, images, and history tracing one girl's journey from Africa to America, and her descendant's return visit to Sierra Leone.

Slavery and Remembrance offers sites and museums across the globe the opportunity to represent their missions and collections to an international audience of museum-goers, students, scholars, and cultural heritage professionals. This project seeks to help represent the stories of those who experienced slave trade by partnering with sites and museums—small and large, locally and internationally known—across Africa, Europe, and the Americas.

Timelines, resources, narratives, and lesson plans associated with the PBS television series.

The images in Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This growing collection currently has over 1,200 images.

This impressive new website on the slave trade is an enlarged and revised edition of the Cambridge 1998 CD-ROM dataset (that was clumsy to use) and will be very useful for teaching and research... and its all free, folks!

The Understanding Slavery initiative (USI) is a national learning project which supports the teaching and learning of transatlantic slavery and its legacies using museum and heritage collections.

On December 19, 1995 the Library of Congress installed an exhibition on slave life curated by GWU American Studies Professor John Michael Vlach. Entitled "Back of the Big House: The Cultural Landscape of the Plantation," the exhibit consisted of images of plantation buildings from the LOC collections matched with the testimonies of former slaves recorded during the 1930s. The show had already been seen at four other venues in South Carolina, Tennessee, Louisiana, and Arkansas, but at the Library of Congress the content proved so offensive to a number of African-American employees that the exhibit was removed within a few hours....